h1

Introducing The “Battle Bards” Podcast

April 3, 2013

Battle Bards

Long-time readers may be aware that I frequently like to feature or talk about MMO soundtracks on my twitter or blog; for me, the music has always been such a significant part of the gaming experience.

That’s why I was thrilled when Syp of Biobreak approached me one day and asked if I would be interested in being involved with an idea he’d been hatching for a while: a gaming podcast entirely dedicated to the music of MMOs. I would be joining him and fellow MMO music lovers Syl of MMO Gypsy and Merric AKA Dodge of A Casual Stroll to Mordor as hosts on Battle Bards! The podcast would be an avenue for us to talk about our enthusiasm for MMO music and share our thoughts with others who are equally as passionate about the subject. I know y’all are out there, somewhere!

Without further ado, I’m excited to announce that our first episode is up and ready for your listening pleasure.

The topic of the show is all about our favorite main themes, brought to you by Syp, Syl and myself since Dodge was out of town. You can also view more information about it on the show page here. Also, like our “Epic Lute” banner? Credit for that awesome image and design goes to the very talented Tesh of Tish Tosh Tesh.

Anyway, this is the first time I’ve ever done anything like this, and despite having a mild case of the jitters I really enjoyed myself. I hope you’ll have as much fun listening as we did recording.

11 comments

  1. What a great idea! Music in games and movies is what elevates them and creates that subtle emotional connection.


    • Absolutely! Glad to find others who feel the same, I realize collecting and critiquing MMO music might be a very niche interest :P


      • I love listening to tracks for games and trying to figure out what the composer was trying to say about the game/story/world in them.


      • Me too! Like I said in my introduction, it’s cool that others like to listen to their own mp3 playlists while playing MMOs, but for me the best part is being able to listen to the game music while playing.


  2. You guys did an awesome job.


    • Thanks! I know it took me a little bit to loosen up and relax :P


  3. [...] fan of video game music, and these two have tipped me off to some great stuff.  MMO Gamer Chick is on board as well, and it sounds like they are having fun with [...]


  4. I’ll have to look into this. I love gaming music, and this is definitely an excellent idea.


    • Let me know what you think! I’m glad there are people out there who love game music like us :D


  5. Finally got to listen to the show and enjoyed it. Little surprised actually as I don’t listen to game music unless I’m playing a game, but I think the enthusiasm from the three of you helped keep me interested.


    • Thanks! We’ll actually be recording the next couple of episodes soon, I hope you’ll keep enjoying it :D



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,347 other followers