h1

TSW: Some Screenies From Elite Night

May 7, 2013

You’re always bound to see some strange and disturbing things on The Secret World Mondays.

Case in point — here, enjoy a picture of a wild-eyed horse in a bloodstained sweatshirt sitting next to a well-dressed man in a helicopter, gawking at one another as it crashes. Yeah, this one is probably one of the more bizarre screenshots I’ve ever taken, even for TSW…

Elite Polaris 1

Last night, we hit up Elite Polaris. After foiling our last couple of attempts, the Ur-Draug finally succumbed to the awesome might of the Mercy Templars (plus one Lumie):

Elite Polaris 2

A spontaneous run of Elite Inferno also yielded favorable results. The place gave us a lot less trouble than I expected, but then again I’m also more familiar with this dungeon than any of the others. It happens to be my favorite instance, not the least of all because of the stunning visuals.

Er, wait. I didn’t mean those kind of visuals. “So sorry” indeed! I do swear this is a PG-13 blog!

Elite Inferno 1

And of course, no TSW picture post would be complete without the “What I wore for TSW Monday” feature.

Laeyn was ninja-ing around last night in the spiffy Assassinatrix uniform, with the glowy-eyes effect from the glowing lunar draug mask:

Assassinatrix

18 comments

  1. Awesome pics! The Assassinatrix outfit is hawt, especially with the glowy eyes.


    • It’s a nice “bug” that gives a good effect. The anubis mask gives the red glowy eyes :D


  2. hahahah, I saw that first picture and was completely unfazed. “That’s the end of that one mission in The Secret World where you think you’re good to leave but your helicopter gets attacked,” I say, having never played TSW ever.

    I guess you TSW players do a really good job describing it!


    • It’s always great taking new people through that first dungeon, and making them think that the dungeon’s over. And when we crash, we say that’s never happened before until they came along and tell them it’s all their fault :P


  3. Interesting – my husband keeps trying to get me to try this one out with him but I keep resisting (the first screenshots I ever saw from it were kind of unimpressive to me; I kept thinking “eh, it’s just a bland-looking zombie apocalypse game”, but this is much more intriguing.


    • The zombies are only part of the first major region. After that, you have mummies and then vampires. All the undead species are represented. ;P

      But seriously, there’s a lot more going on in this game than meets the eye. The zombies are only the theme, and only of the first part.


    • Like Rowan said, there’s a lot more to the game that meets the eye. The stories are incredibly deep and well written, with characters that you’ll remember long after finishing their quests and leaving the zone.

      Game mechanic-wise, though, it seems to be either a hit or miss with people, but most people agree the story content and writing is solid.


      • The investigative and sabotage quests are a lot of fun as well. Definitely unique, especially for a major MMO.


      • I think investigation quests are the best, and one of the most innovative factors about TSW. LOVE them!


      • I was just thinking this morning: How awesome is it that the crafting system is actually used to complete missions, and not just of the “ten bandages” variety.


      • That’s a good point. Most people wouldn’t think to open up the crafting window when doing a quest. Usually they’re challenging too.


  4. *snorts*

    Oh I love how mature and yet epically /silly/ The Secret World can be!

    Thanks for sharing, great screenshots!


    • Yeah, it’s got the right mix of creepy and darkly humorous that’s right up my alley XD


  5. Very nice Ninja suit and outfit. Just need a very shard sword with sharp edges as that one looks a bit blunt from being used too much i guess.

    As well nice to see the TSW group going strong and having fun.


    • I think “blunt edge” you’re seeing is part of the side of the blade. :) The cross section looks something like this: ♦


    • Yeah, I swapped out my weapon with the old “hell” model after I picked up that upgrade. It guess it does look blunt in that picture, has none of the grace of my old weapon. I’ll had to re-mold it next time I get a chance.


  6. […] did it happen? Really… I have no idea. I give all the credit to my fantastic group-mates, MMO Gamerchick, Husband-to-Gamerchick, TenTentacles, and Pid, as their experience and awesomeness won the day. […]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,400 other followers