h1

Screenshots Of The Day: BEARly Made It

August 13, 2013

Hey guys, check out my new teddy bear! His name is Einstein and he’s blue and fluffy with a pink ribbon…and sure, I know he’s a little splattered with blood and pieces of gore, but I still loves him.

Einstein

Thank you to TenTentacles for helping me with this achievement! Armed with his superb video guide and instructions over voice chat, I was able to end last night’s The Secret World Monday session with a new teddy bear shirt in addition to my furry blue friend pictured above.

Initially, I dreaded having to do it, since rumor had it that it involved a jumping puzzle. I can’t stress how notoriously bad I am at those. It’s a little embarrassing, to be honest. So, you can imagine my shock — not only did I manage to complete this process to obtain my silly little bear, I actually did it without screwing up…all that much. Oh yeah, I totally deserved that fanfare and shower of colorful confetti!

Seriously, though. If I can do it, anyone can.

teddybear

Running this quest again to do the puzzle also made me realize how much more the devs have hidden in Issue 7: A Dream to Kill. It’s the little things that make it so impressive when considering how much thought and effort must have gone into putting these missions together.

This whole achievement itself involves finding hidden letters to form a secret word, but also scattered throughout the entire mission are all these easter eggs, like this magazine featuring Dreamfall.

dreamfall

And speaking of vanity pets and the little things, it also never ceases to amaze me how often this game can surprise or delight me over the most random details. Take the new “Little Lycanthrope” pet in the item store, for example. Last night, one of my guildies bought him and took him out to show him off.

Even speaking as a big fan and collector of vanity pets, I can’t say I was too impressed with it at first. The little wolfman’s head is so big it’s a wonder that he can scamper after his owner without falling over, and on top of that he’s ugly as sin and, quite frankly, creeps me the hell out. I rest my case:

littlelycanthrope

But oh my god, just when I’m about to write him off the little bastard goes ahead and does the moonwalk as an idle animation. And then, BOOM — THREE WOLF MOON!

ThreeMoon

These are the kind of pleasant surprises TSW likes to pull on a regular basis. Needless to say, in about two seconds flat I went from getting the urge to punt the damn thing to wanting to shake the hand of whoever designed it.

4 comments

  1. Funny that you’re talking talking about how ugly the little lycanthrope is when your pic has the lil leet blob in the background. :P


    • Leets rule!


      • Oh god, what, does that disgusting little thing have a fan club?! :P


  2. I think my wife has you beat when it comes to jumping puzzles. She has her left hand on the arrows, right hand on the mouse. See the problem? To jump she has to let go of the mouse, cross her right hand over her left, and smack-smack-smack the spacebar while trying to keep on target. We’ve been looking for an MMO to play together in since we both got sick of waiting on TOR to get its crap together. Let’s just say GW2, not her cup of tea. She doesn’t like the movement oriented combat. I hated breaking it to her that almost every decent MMO that came out recently, or will come out soon, is just that. :(

    As for mini-pets. Give me ferrets! They don’t even have to be mini. Just make them life-sized since they’re already mini! :)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,304 other followers