h1

SWTOR: The “Real” Big Ding!

August 19, 2013
The big moment immortalized.

The big moment immortalized.

This weekend saw me hit level 55 on my Bounty Hunter in Star Wars: The Old Republic! YAY!

And I know thus far I have not talked much about the Rise of the Hutt Cartel expansion, but now that I’ve played through most of it, I have to say it’s pretty well done. The story was good, the questing zones are laid out in a nice, convenient way that actually doesn’t make me want to throw acid in own my face. The planet Makeb is also gorgeous. Honestly, I’m quite impressed with the whole package, considering the state of things when I first took a break from the game.

While I suppose gearing up should be my next step (already started on weeklies), I’m also thinking about taking my Republic character to 55 as well, for the legacy experience and, more importantly, the full expansion content. I’m told the two faction quest lines play off each other and together they form the full Makeb story. I might as well soak it all in.

And, ugh! Of course, I’m also contemplating the idea of starting an alt. I suppose is inevitable given that’s usually my regular pattern after hitting level cap, but the notion is rather appealing considering how we’ve currently revived our Empire guild, and I’ve been itching to play an Imperial Agent since, like, forever! Sexiest class in the game, easy!

12 comments

  1. I have so many alts it’s ridiculous. Most were born of playing with varying groups of friends, though there are three level 50+ characters (BH, Sorc, Scoundrel) that are all mine.

    I have an Imperial Agent I made before the server merge and he’s STILL level 4. :P It’s not that I don’t like him, it’s that I played the Sith campaign essentially twice in a row and burned out. :P


    • Wow, three 50+ characters! That’s awesome, the only game I have something like that is probably WoW, and that’s only because I’ve played that on and off for years!


      • Well, my first one was more just a side effect of “hey, new game!”. The second was for a Let’s Play of the Bounty Hunter storyline. The third was because I was really curious about the Inquisitor’s storyline. Oddly less satisfied with the Inquisitor but that’s more the nature of the story and the side effect of being a Sith. Now I’m pushing forward on the Jedi Knight finally. :D

        I had three level 90’s in Star Wars Galaxies, I’ve a level 60+ in LOTRO, I have four maxed out characters in Star Trek Online (although I only play one these days), and whole bunch of others. Some games are all about the climb and sometimes the climb is a really enjoyable challenge like in SWTOR. Other times the climb is more a grind like in Ragnarok Online.


      • I want to play the agent next because I had so much fun with my smuggler in beta. Since I’m on the Empire side these days, I figured I should play its imperial counterpart. And maybe I’ll play a male character for once, they seem to have all the best “flirt” options, LOL.


  2. Grats! I may never hit max level in SWTOR. I don’t get as much time to play as I used to get, so I have to pick my game choices “wisely.”


    • I hear ya! I hop games a lot, but even then, I only play one game at a time, at most two. So I put a lot of games away for new ones, only to dig them up again in several months or so, and then rinse and repeat for all my MMOs :P


  3. I’ve got Alt-ADD, so I tend to switch around a lot I thought I liked my Jedi Knight – until I tried Imperial Agent and Sith Inquisitor. I LOVE being part of the Empire for some reason! I also like that being Sith/Imperial doesn’t mean you have to be a jerk, since you can still choose Light Side stuff.


    • I’m lucky that my altitis doesn’t kick usually kick in until I get my current character to level cap, otherwise I don’t think I would have ever gotten to 55 in SWTOR :D

      And yeah, I know what you mean about the light side/dark side stuff. That’s why I enjoyed playing a Bounty Hunter…I told myself I was working for credits and had no allegiances, so I had no pattern to my light/dark choices!


      • My Jedi Sentinel is full-on Light side. My Imperial Agent and Sith Assassin are SIMILAR paths, but slightly different. My Imperial Agent is Light, unless it conflicts with being Pro-Empire. My Sith Assassin is more Pro-Sith – her decisions aren’t necessarily for the Empire, but for the Sith themselves – such as thanking her verbally-abuse Overseer for teaching her anyway, but not taking any flack from Imperial Officers. (I have a Smuggler and Consular started on another server, but don’t really care for either of them, looks wise or any. Might just delete them…)

        My hope is at some point to just play a full-on Light-side Sith Warrior. And maybe a full-on Dark Side republic class – but I’m usually too soft to stick with the Dark side. :(


      • My BH is now pretty much in the middle neutral. It’s a shame they really never got to developing more gear and perks for people who decided to remain grey, I know people were asking for it and they’d talked about the possibility.


  4. Hey gratz on hitting your level cap. :)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,304 other followers