h1

Battle Bards Episode 14: World of Warcraft

October 29, 2013

Battle Bards

This newest episode of Battle Bards was a long time coming. Our past episodes have featured music from World of Warcraft before, but now finally we give the game its own show.

Love the game, hate the game, no matter how you feel about it no one can deny WoW has one of the most expansive, diverse soundtracks out there. It’s a big game with a big track list, and it was tough but Syp, Syl and I managed to choose a few to feature out of the dozens upon dozens of tunes this game has to offer.

Fear not if you don’t see your favorites, though, as WoW is definitely a game we’ll have to do as a theme again in the future. For myself, I have so many memories wrapped up in this game; from Vanilla WoW through all the expansions to Mists of Pandaria, so many of those moments are linked to the music. So join me and my fellow battle bards, and let’s talk the WoW soundtrack!

LISTEN NOW

World of Warcraft logo

Episode 14 show notes

  • Introduction (including “Main Theme” from World of Warcraft and “Howling Fjord” from Wrath of the Lich King)
  • “A Call to Arms” from World of Warcraft
  • “Elwynn Forest” from World of Warcraft
  • “The Shaping of the World” from World of Warcraft
  • “The Sin’dorei” from The Burning Crusade
  • “Castaways” from Cataclysm
  • “Mountains of Thunder” from Wrath of the Lich King
  • “Stormstout Brew” from Mists of Pandaria
  • Mailbag: Ian
  • Outro (“Salty Sailor” from Taverns of Azeroth)

2 comments

  1. I have long since said my goodbyes to WoW. I had left the game before and gone back, but this last time was the first time I received seven free days of time for a promotion and didn’t play more than a day of it. I guess the magic is just gone for me, but it left some great memories.

    Some of the songs listed are among my favorites. I can still recall the first time I made it to the lift area above the Forsaken settlement in Howling Fjord. The bagpipes really made the “Highland” feel of the area a lot more prominent. There are several songs from Wotlk that I had on repeat. I even used to stop in midair in the middle of Grizzly Hills just to listen to Totems of the Grizzlemaw. In the Burning Crusade, Nagrand’s music and the music in Terrokar Forest still stand out for me (I hated to see Matt Uelman go. His work really built the WoW franchise into what it was, musically).

    Even if it’s just in the rearview mirror now, I’ll always look back on that time fondly. It was a fun world to explore — made even more impactful by utilizing incredible, layered, textured, emotive music.


    • Seems like the WotLK soundtrack is a fan favorite. It’s kinda weird, like I said on the show I wouldn’t really peg that as my favorite just because the other expansion soundtracks seem to have a lot more variety…but thinking back on it, it features the most number of tracks from WoW that I like best. Grizzly Hills and Howling Fjord are definitely up there, as well as “Mountains of Thunder” from the Stormpeaks. Doing this show got me so nostalgic for the game, nothing gives me the urge to log in again like the music!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,305 other followers