h1

SWTOR: I Can’t Shake Him!

December 6, 2013
can't shake him

Going down?

Galactic Starfighter went live on Star Wars: The Old Republic this week, and it has been…quite interesting. I was invited into the beta but didn’t really get the chance to check it out, so for all intents and purposes this was really my first exposure.

I got to play a little bit of the content Tuesday, but it wasn’t until last night that I finally started to get a handle on the controls. Let’s face it; I just don’t have the piloting instincts of a Skywalker. I spent most of the first night flying around like a drunk chicken with a broken wing, though I have no one to blame but myself for skipping the tutorial (because instruction manuals are for chumps!) and as a result did most of my learning through trial and error.

sideways

And the world goes sideways…

Needless to say, starfighter battles are a lot more fun when you know what you’re doing. That’s why I haven’t written off the expansion yet, because without a doubt, things improve as you gain more experience and a handle on flying these damn things. Last night for our guild’s SWTOR Thursday session we went into battles as a team, and I have to say the increased interaction and strategic planning that comes with playing in a group greatly improves the experience.

win

Victory!

7 comments

  1. Which one are you on the leader board?


    • I can’t see well enough to tell, it’s not actually my screenshot, I took this pic from Maric because I forgot to snap one of our win :P


  2. This looks awesome…


    • It’s a lot of fun once you get the hang of it :D


      • my one SWOTR playing friend confirmed this…will have to wait until I get back to GB so I can get a gaming PC set up!


  3. Haven’t touched Swtor in years. Wasn’t even aware of this new mode. Looks fun enough to test out though.


    • Yeah, it’s the new starfighter content in their expansion. Pretty much just pvp battlegrounds in space!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,367 other followers