h1

Elder Scrolls Online Impressions: Characters

February 26, 2014

Inspired by some of the comments on my last Elder Scrolls Online post, I’ve decided to talk about my experiences with different classes in the game. I think I’ve mentioned before how I wasn’t initially that impressed by the game in this regard, though that definitely changed as I progressed through beta and leveled more characters.

The gameplay was by far the biggest surprise, I think. I liked being able to make my own class the way I liked, so that it fit my playstyle. It wasn’t like that at the beginning, when admittedly I was still stuck in the mindset that my Nightblade had to be more of a traditional-style dual wield rogue, or that my Templar had to be a heavy armored sword-and-board tanky type character. That was my mistake.

It turns out the classes are a lot more flexible than I could have ever imagined. What I discovered is that there is a lot more customization with classes, as well as weapons, armor, enchantments, and of course skill points and talents. There’s really no set-in-stone way to play your character. I learned that I could go in and make my class the way I wanted and play the way I most prefer.  And the moment I started to branch away from convention I started being able to dominate more fights, being able to survive better. More importantly, I started having more fun.

Now as promised, here’s a showcase of some of my characters from the different weekend betas and the test server beta, and the way they looked:

ESO1

ESO2

ESO4

ESO3

3 comments

  1. Ah, your Human looks like mine! OH NO!

    They all look good. :)

    I’ve got two active at the moment:
    Jeanne L’Oren – http://www.plus1creativity.com/?attachment_id=22092
    Mika Si’yul – http://www.plus1creativity.com/?attachment_id=22093


  2. Sweet screenshots. I have yet to play ESO, but watching some streams yesterday has given me more confidence that I’ll like the game and it will be worth the preorder for me.


  3. Do enjoy reading the reviews especially since I haven’t played it and haven’t had much time yet to view an YouTube vids. I got 2 beta invites but haven’t had any time to do anything much with them.

    Great character screenshots!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,370 other followers