h1

The Secret Wednesday: Postcards From Tokyo

June 5, 2014

1 A Sailor Suit for Tokyo

For The Secret World players, the day has finally arrived – we are Tokyo bound!

Issue 9: The Black Signal is now live, adding content beyond the current quest line. It became available today to purchase with points for subscribers, though free players will have to wait a few days longer to hit up Japan. So rest assured, I won’t be posting a detailed summary of my impromptu night in TSW, in case of spoilers for those who haven’t done it yet.

But I will say this, it’s already pretty tough. I probably wouldn’t want to traverse the city alone, at least in the beginning. First though, we had to get through some pre-quests…

6 first the prequest before tokyo

Grab a friend (or two!) since it can be completed as a group. The more the merrier, and a lot easier too! And you might need someone to steady you when you recognize someone familiar from your past…dun dun DUN!

2 You're going to recognize someone from your past

Ah, here we go, sakura and skyscrapers. This must be it! Wish me luck now…

3 Ah, here we go...

D’oh! Not another pre-quest! But we gotta learn how to use the new Aegis System. Or rather, they just sort of vaguely show you how it works and you’re supposed to stumble around and figure it out for yourself. In other words, business as usual in TSW.

4 Doh! Another prequest

The Secret World sure loves its subways…

11 The Secret World loves subways

Finally! This is for real now. Tokyo, I am in you! And yes, signs of Orochi are everywhere…

5 finally, hello tokyo...and yes signs of orochi are everywhere

Er, look, I’m making a great first impression on the locals already. Please don’t kill me!

8 making a great first impression on the locals...please don't kill me

The new headquarters…nice looking digs.

10 The new headquarters

Hmm, I kinda feel like a dragon roll. But I don’t think this is that kinda bar.

7 I feel like a sushi roll

Chucho, Thermic and Laeyn, surveying the new place!

9 surveying the new place

4 comments

  1. Is that my logo in the back of your last pic? I knew TSW was a class game if it features: The Great Wave off Kanagawa (神奈川沖浪裏 Kanagawa-Oki Nami-Ura?, “Under a Wave off Kanagawa”)


    • It sure is! And yes, TSW is indeed a class game :)


  2. Hah, I loved that shot where it zoomed in on the character’s face and the background went red. Very dramatic. Good shots! And I’m of the same mind in not rushing through it. 2 months minimum until more Tokyo, so might as well make it last!


  3. Ok I had to chuckle cause you are a sailor girl. I love the look of the portal Don’t know if this would be the game for me though.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,375 other followers