h1

An Introduction

January 7, 2010

Welcome to MMO Gamer Chick. As the title of this blog suggests, here you can expect to find the MMO-related musings (and thoughts about general nerdom) of a 20-something-year-old female gamer.

But first, some info regarding the author of this site: I’m passionate about gaming, obviously. Enough to get me off my ass and start a blog about it which is saying something, considering how ambivalent I am towards most things in life. Not to mention I am also cursed with the attention span of a goldfish.

What was I saying again? Oh, right. Gaming and how much I love it. Though this blog will ultimately focus on MMOs, I feel it is appropriate for my first post to be a summary of my own personal gaming experiences, as it will shed insight into my love of MMOs and the particular genres I enjoy. The earliest memory I have related to gaming was probably also my first exposure to the world of video games, though it technically doesn’t count as a personal gaming experience considering I was just a wee toddler being balanced on my father’s knee while he sat at the computer trying to babysit me and play Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards at the same time (he probably thinks I don’t remember, but I do). Lucky for him, the only lasting impression I had of that game was poor Larry being run over by a car and instantly killed every time he tried crossing the street, and nothing else. Even as a two or three-year-old, I knew that was funny.

He ain't gonna make it.

Skip forward to the late 1980’s or thereabouts, with the original Prince of Persia. You know, the game where you play that poor sap in the white jammies who’s always jumping around screen after screen trying to avoid deadly traps. The more you progressed, the more you felt the pressure building. I’ll tell you, playing this game was maddening as a little kid, but no matter how many times you were skewered by spikes or cut to bits by chomping blades, no matter how little time was left on the clock, you just couldn’t help but want to try it over again and again and again. And again. A warning sign of things to come, perhaps.

The reason I became a Bioware fangirl.

The 1990’s for me were a blur of games; without a doubt, there were just too many to name. But here are some that stood out: starting in 1993 when my brother and I received Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis as a gift from one of our mother’s friends. Thus solidified my love for adventure games, including such titles as King’s Quest V and later Myst and Riven, which ultimately lead me down the path to discovering the wonderful world of fantasy RPGs. Blizzard’s Diablo will always have a special place in my heart, as will Bioware’s Baldur’s Gate, both of which kept me enthralled for hours on end.

You see where this is going. Admittedly, I was a latecomer to the MMO scene. For years, I shied away purposely, telling myself that I enjoyed playing RPGs for the immersive factor. After all, in MMOs you have to play with real people. And real people are jerks. How am I supposed to get immersed and stay immersed when have to play with jerks? Somehow, I managed to hold myself back until 2006, when all of a sudden, it seemed like all the men in my life were playing World of Warcraft. My college roommate, who I could hear playing the game in the next room 24/7 but still miraculously managed to pass all his courses. My boyfriend at the time, that I had just started dating, who had been with the game since day one of launch. And finally, my brother, who raved about the game to me and can be credited as the one who finally got me onto the MMO bandwagon. After a brief consultation with him and placing more trust than I should have upon his recommendations for class and realm, I rolled my first MMO character–a human warrior on a PVP server.

I can't believe I lost my MMO virginity to WoW.

So, after only about 10 minutes of gameplay, I came to the realization that even after 20 years or so of growing up together, my brother knew absolutely squat about me. For one, he neglected to inform me that as a warrior I would be expected to be a tank-bitch in virtually every single group I joined. At this point in my life, I HATED tanking. Hated it so much, that I would rather be trapped in an elevator with six farting wet dogs than have to tank another run of Deadmines or Shadowfang Keep. Along the way, I also discovered my hate for PVP. So here I was, prancing merrily along my way in Thousand Needles trying to kill wyvern for a quest when out of nowhere, a hulking skull-level Tauren comes and makes roadkill out of me and proceeded to camp my body. Yep, I was right. People are jerks.

Amazingly (or maybe not, being the glutton for punishment that I am), I stuck with the game, though it wasn’t until I switched servers and rolled a new class that I was finally able to enjoy my WoW experience to its fullest. For one thing, I joined an awesome guild. It made me see that MMOs are about the community and socialization, and despite the irritating knuckle-dragging bonehead griefers, the fortunate reality is that much of the MMO populace is made up of helpful and friendly decent folk who are a pleasure to play with. Another thing, I rolled a druid, which really was the perfect class for me all along. Ironically, I spec’ed feral and learned to love the tanking gig. But I still hate PVP.

With two expansions under its belt, WoW isn’t like what it used to be, but I can’t deny its profound impact on me and my love for MMOs, or the influence  has over the genre as a whole. Since then, I have played other MMOs, some of which have succeeded in captivating me, others which have been disappointing. No doubt you will find me talking about them sooner or later on this blog. Until then, I hope I’ve at least succeeded in revealing a little about my style as a gamer, and why I love MMOs. Thanks for reading!

One comment

  1. Hehe, a very late comment, but I had to go back and see where it all started. And don’t worry: to this day, 6 years after it started, most people still pop their MMO cherry in WoW.



Leave a Reply

