h1

I Sense a Disturbance in the Force…

January 12, 2010

…Or maybe it’s just the sensation of my heart sinking. Shacknews reported today that the CEO of EA John Riccitiello said in a conference call that a “major MMO” of theirs is “making great progress towards a Spring 2011 launch.” You can read the whole article here.

Could this game be Star Wars: The Old Republic? It’s certainly possible that EA has another MMO in the works, but I personally don’t think that’s a very likely scenario. This just goes hand in hand with my last post on SW:TOR that I made a few days ago, regarding my increasing doubts about this game being ready for a 2010 launch. A few months ago, I was convinced that this game would be coming out this year but now, especially with this new development, that’s changed.

Already, the thread on the SW:TOR forums on this matter has grown to over a thousand posts, and some have pointed out that Riccitiello didn’t actually specify whether he was referring to the calendar 2011, or the company’s fiscal 2011. Keep in mind that EA’s fiscal year runs from April 2010 to March 2010, and you can see why this is relevant. Are people simply grasping at straws here? Who knows. I just know I’m not holding my breath.

And as usual, Bioware is keeping mum. According to an update from IGN, there has been no confirmation on anything.

Update: Bioware has come out and confirmed they are targeting for a spring 2011 release…as millions of voices suddenly cried out in terror, and were suddenly silenced. Sorry, I could not resist.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,157 other followers