h1

Star Trek Online Open Beta Begins

January 12, 2010

Something occurred to me today. In a baffling turn of events, Star Trek Online has become my most anticipated MMO of 2010. I can hardly believe it myself, but considering how SW:TOR is out of the running now, STO is it. They  lifted their NDA today and a deluge of information has come in from those who have played the closed beta. Not surprisingly, the reviews are mixed. After all, you can’t expect a game based on a franchise that has spanned more than 40 years to please everybody. Personally, I’m not a fan of Star Trek. In fact, my entire experience with the IP can be summed up by the new JJ Abram’s movie, a few random episodes of The Next Generation I managed to catch on TV when I leave it on the Space channel, and Youtube snippets of the original series.

Do I need to be a Trekkie to enjoy the game? I don’t think so. I didn’t have to like either the Lord of the Rings movies or books all that much, or know much about the Conan universe to enjoy LOTRO or AoC, respectively. I think even the most hardcore fanboys of any franchise will tell you that simply enjoying the IP will only get you so far–a game has to be a good MMO first and foremost, and if it’s crap then nothing else matters.

I'm mostly looking forward to experiencing the space combat.

That said, I managed to snag open beta keys for myself and my husband earlier today. I’ll be going in knowing next to nothing about Star Trek, whereas he is an “original series purist”, has seen all the movies and has sat through all of Enterprise and most of The Next Generation, Deep Space Nine and Voyager. It’ll be interesting to see how our opinions on the game will differ. Open beta will run from January 12, 2010 to January 26, 2010. If I like it, I might pick it up. If not, I might look into subbing to EVE Online, which has me very intrigued so far during the free trial period. If nothing else, the 26th is also the release date for Bioware’s RPG Mass Effect 2, so I’ll be rocking that on the Xbox 360 for a while regardless. Sci-fi appears to be January’s theme for me.

And now I shall go forth and join the thousands trying to find a place where I can download the STO client hassle-free. Where no man has gone before, indeed.

Leave a Reply

