h1

Thoughts on the STO Beta

January 15, 2010

After 16 agonizingly long hours of downloading the client and then 6 more hours of waiting for the good at people Cryptic to fix some patching issues in-game, I was finally playing the Star Trek Online beta. This is just a post to outline my thoughts so far, after having played the game for a day.

My first thought was: wicked customization! This is something Cryptic has always done well. I made myself a female Vulcan tactical officer, and spiced up her costume the way I wanted it. Totally non-regulation, and *gasp* she’s wearing a red shirt, but I’m just going to use the fact I’m a Star Trek noob as an excuse. You can also customize your ship once you’re in the game, but I haven’t had a chance to really utilize that function yet. What I saw was pretty interesting though, so I’m looking forward to it.

Overall, the look and feel of the game reminds me a little bit of Champions Online, like with the interaction bar and the animations, but that’s pretty much where the similarities end. For one thing, there’s no SPACE COMBAT in Champions, muahahahaha! I had a blast fighting in space, though it took me a while to get used to fighting with a z-axis! Almost right away, you’re thrown into missions where you and a team of other players have to take down groups of enemy ships, and things could get pretty intense. At times, I wished I had an extra pair of arms just to handle all the movement and combat functions. Even after getting the hang of it, I had to break myself of the habit of going up to the ships I’ve just destroyed. Running up to dead things to check for loot after you’ve killed them is what I was used to, because that’s what MMO games have taught us, right?! Well, in this game the enemy ships explode after you blast them out of the sky, so this poor gamer chick stupidly got blown up like this at least a couple of times. Anyway, I’m pleased with what I’ve seen of the space combat so far, and I hope there will be more variations in the missions so things won’t get too repetitive.

STO’s skills training system is also new to me. Maybe I’m missing something, but the game doesn’t really do a good job in terms of explaining this. I’m currently spending my points in skills that I think make sense to me, but I also feel like I’m going in blind. Since this is beta, there’s a certain level of freedom when it comes to experimenting and all, but I sure as hell hope I’ll be given a better understanding if I do end up picking up this game.

On that note, I’m not blown away yet, but I am liking what I see so far.

3 comments

  1. I’m having to get use to not hitting “W” to move forward – I keep pitching up and down all the time!


    • Oh god, yes. As well, I keep hitting the “strafe” keys that make me either go too fast or stop completely 😛


      • I changed my keys, such that “W” goes up and “S” goes down, and that strafe is “A” and “E.”

        Look me up @Aurangzeb, if you feel like it. I’m trying out a tac and an engi captain right now.



Leave a Reply

