h1

Star Trek Online Officially Goes on Sale Today

February 2, 2010

That’s right, STO is officially open to the masses! Along with the influx of new players, I’m expecting to see no fewer than a couple dozen queries of “Where’s Sulu?” and about thrice the number of World of Warcraft references in zone chat tonight.

To all of you who pre-ordered the game online, I hope you found it in your mailbox waiting for you today! Myself, I braved the cold and picked up my order at my local EB Games and I now hold a brand spanking new copy of STO in my hand. For a minute there at the store, I actually contemplated buying the Collector’s Edition. What can I say? Being a visual artist, I’m a sucker when it comes to art books and my interest is always piqued when a game includes them in their CE’s. But to be honest, there’s not much else in the box that makes me really want to get it. A die cast wearable badge? No thanks, doesn’t go with anything in my wardrobe. It would have been a done deal if they had thrown in a game soundtrack, but I can’t justify spending an extra $30 dollars on the CE as it is now. Regular edition will do just fine for me.

That said, I’m all fired up and raring to go. I even have a back-up plan in case we get a repeat of the first days of headstart–episodes of Star Trek – The Original Series sitting on my hard drive to keep me in the mood in the event of emergency shutdowns and endless server queues!

One comment

  1. My Amazon order arrived in the mail today, so I said buh-bye to my Ferengi Engineer and hallo to my sexy Borg Bridge Officer.

    I had to hard crashes this morning, right after loading the game. However, that is the sum total of all the problems I’ve had today. The game has played great, no noticeable lag, and all of my unlocks have worked.

    Also: finally up to level 7!



Leave a Reply

