h1

Mass Effect 2: Prepping for the Final Journey

February 10, 2010

The index finger of my left hand has completely locked up, and I have no one to blame for it but myself.

I’m coming upon the final mission in Mass Effect 2, and at this point it’s all about tying up loose ends. That means finishing any leftover quests in my journal, visiting any unexplored systems, and making any incomplete upgrades to my team and ship.  The last of these requires a ton of resources, much of which can only be obtained through scanning and launching probes at a planet until it looks like some kind of freaky overgrown blowfish. Over the last couple of days, I’ve spent most of my time in this game holding down the left trigger button on the Xbox 360 controller performing these scans (I guess even here you can’t escape the dreaded farm), so serves me right for being a completist. On the other hand, my armory is now the envy of every weapons enthusiast in the galaxy.

Warning: The following section contains spoilers! You have been warned!

Area(s) covered: Derelict Reaper

All along, I had been expecting a final addition to my crew due to the presence of an empty slot in my squad list, and so I wasn’t surprised when I finally got to meet Legion. It’s kinda neat to be able to see a Geth up close without worrying about it shooting me in the face. Apparently I need to work on repaying the favor, because I kept accidentally firing on him during his personal quest (what can I say, I’ve been conditioned too well when it comes to AHHH IT’S A GETH! KEEEL EET!). To be honest, Legion hasn’t really been impressing me outside of combat. He has got to be the most infuriating squad member to talk to. While I realize that some of that was intended, something else isn’t adding up here. So you say your race can govern yourselves efficiently because you can process data with thousands of your buddies at the speed of light, eh? Well, in the end you still needed me to make the big decisions for you, so ha.

Things are also looking up on the romance front with Garrus, who is currently busy “researching” for his special night with Shepard. Well, there’s no shortage of primary resources on the internet, my Turian friend! On a related note, Shepard discovered male-enhancement junk mail on her private terminal the other day. Even the Cerberus spam filters can’t stop them, what chance do we have?!

5 comments

  1. potential *SPOILER ALERT*

    Ahhh, spoilers!? Did you put something in bold about “Reaper ship” or something? Do you get control of a reaper ship in ME2!? Wait, don’t answer that. Why did you have to put line that in bold so that I insta-half-read it!? Ahhhh… Have I been “spoiled”?


    • Haha, no, you haven’t been spoiled. I really just meant it as a location. There, I changed the name…after all, that’s what the area is official called. 😛


      • Shoot. Did I write reaper? I meant Collector. What, you board a reaper ship!? I thought they were in dark space or whatever!! AHHHh, I am my worst enemy!

        Lol.


      • So I guess you haven’t been staying clear of all spoilers since you know about the Collectors…LOL you ARE your worst enemy! 😀


      • *spoiler alert*

        Ha ha, yeah. Although, I don’t mind a certain level of spoilers. As long as they don’t ruin plot twists. I was pretty upset when a Bioware developer or executive explained in an interview that Shepard would die and be reconstructed at the start of the game. We were all wondering what to make of the “he’s dead”/”you can still play as him” messages they were sending until he dropped that bombshell. Now we won’t be freaking out as he’s dying (as shown in the launch trailer). Grrr… But at least that’s at the beginning of the game, so it’s not too big of a deal.

        Also, I’m still thinking that the collector’s edition armor should have literally been collector armor. Like, made from the collectors’ bodies 😀



Leave a Reply

