h1

Return to Taris

February 12, 2010

There was a drought of news about Star Wars: The Old Republic as of late, which is why I was bouncing up and down with excitement when I saw that today’s update was a pretty big planet reveal.

At first, I was surprised to see that it was Taris, but it makes sense if you think about it. In the same way that Tattooine is there for fans of the movies, Taris is there for the fans of KOTOR…except the latter planet is no longer the ecumenopolis we knew it to be. Remember, it was utterly destroyed by the Sith. Screenshots and concept art depict it as a swampy ruin, and the forums are already abuzz with speculations as to whether or not Bioware is going to implement the concept of the “Promised Land” that was first mentioned in KOTOR by the denizens of Taris’ Undercity. God, I sure as hell hope so. A nerdgasm-inducing thought, that is.

6 comments

  1. Wow, brings back memories. I never got to complete that quest, because I left Taris before finishing it (or receiving it?), and then I was like, “OH NO – I CAN’T GO BACK NO MORE!”

    Thanks for the wikia link, though. Very informative.


    • I’m almost sure this is something they will touch upon on Taris…maybe some of the outcasts survived and founded their colony after all…imagine the stories that can come out of that!


  2. I’m looking forward to Dantooine. That was always my favorite planet.


    • Dantooine…

      They’re on Dantooine.


  3. Dantooine isn’t one of the planets revealed, but doesn’t mean we won’t be seeing it yet. I’m banking on at least a couple more planets being revealed or maybe more (I seem to remember reading somewhere that the devs said there will be “dozens” of planets to explore, but realistically I don’t think we’ll be seeing that many). Dantooine would be awesome, remember the gigantic flying manta ray thingies in the sky?


    • “Dantooine is too remote to make an effective demonstration. But don’t worry – we will deal with your Rebel friends soon enough.” – Grand Moff Tarkin

      (Had to look that one up to get the wording right 😛 )



Leave a Reply

