h1

Top 3 Favorite STO Moments

March 2, 2010

Well, it’s been a month since the release of Star Trek Online, and now is when a lot of players are going to be taking a step back to decide where they’re going to go with this game. Maybe you’ll stay on because there’s still plenty of things to check off on your in-game to-do list, or perhaps the month has given you enough time to decide that STO just isn’t for you. There’s a lot of negativity surrounding the game as of late (which really isn’t anything new if you’ve been following STO at all) but I’ve personally decided to maintain a positive outlook. One month is a milestone after all, and I wanted to reflect upon the experiences I’ve had in the game in the last 30+ days and share my top 3 favorite moments here.

3. Finding out about Tribbles

According to Wikipedia, even the most clueless of Star Trek fans know about Tribbles, but not me apparently. The first time I picked one up, I thought it was some kind of in-game food item. I mean, it looked just like a scoop of chocolate ice-cream to me, okay!? So I gave it to one of my bridge officers without a second thought. I was on one of my ground missions when I first heard it — the call of the Tribble. Of course, I didn’t know what it was at the time. Since I just happened to be on a jungle planet I thought to myself, “Oh cool, this place has monkeys!” But when I heard the call again on another ground mission, this time in the belly of a Klingon starship, I knew right then that the sound couldn’t have come from any species of space primate. The next time I heard that distinct purring sound, I immediately panned around to see if I could catch the source of it. Imagine my surprise when I saw my BO pull out a puffy fur ball and pet it!

2. Promotion ceremony in the Stateroom

Every time you reach a new rank in STO, you’re given an assignment to talk to an NPC for a new ship. The first time I got promoted, I also noticed a quest labeled “Optional” in my log to go visit the Stateroom to attend my promotion ceremony. Not one to miss out on any game content, I did what the quest called for and made my way to the Stateroom…and was met with all the NPCs turning to salute and congratulate me! That was just way too cool. Commander Menn Hilo, the officer at the front of the room behind the podium, will also tell you how awesome you are when you talk to him to complete the quest. I gotta say, nice touch, Cryptic!

1. “Breaking the Planet”

The Away Mission part of this quest was hands down the most fun I’ve ever had in STO and I would love to see more content like this. Ironically, this Fleet Action mission was broken at the time of launch but was fixed soon after that. Like many others, I went to do the quest as soon as I heard that the bugs had been ironed out, and together we all poured into the Laurentian System and beamed down to the planet surface. Dozens of us including myself cooperated to complete our orders, amassing ourselves into a single, unstoppable fighting force to raze our way across the map, destroying all enemies that got in our way. At one point, two groups of players converged for a battle against the Klingons and I could see at least 40 other people around me engaged in combat, which was a real sight to behold. It’s enough to make even the most jaded of STO players say, “I gotta admit, that was pretty cool.”

8 comments

  1. Oh, “Breaking the Planet” is fixed? I’ll have to go back and try it now. I must’ve missed the patch notes somewhere. Thanks for the tip.

    The tribble thing is awesome, although didn’t you wonder why your bridge officer never ate that ice cream? 🙂


    • I don’t know too much about Tribbles other than what I’ve been told by others, but the whole point with them is that they reproduce inexplicably and at an alarming rate, right? So how come that tribble isn’t reproducing? 😛


      • Actually, they do reproduce! Again, I found this out the hard way. Over time, I picked up a couple more tribbles without realizing it…and one day, I logged on to find that each tribble had replicated and I had like a half dozen of them in my bags O_o


  2. Tribbles are awesome!!!!!!

    On your Bo’s issue ever single one of your BO’s a Tribble equipped on their device slot! Your BO’s will use the Tribble’s to heal themselves on ground mission when they need to as they can. You will sometime see the BO’s pull out the Tribble and pet it and it heals them. Yes Tribble’s can heal! All of my BO’s have one.
    I’ve heard they can also give a buff, thats i’m not sure of as well since i haven’t seen it happen, maybe its the more advance Tribbles. I have yet to see one of those also or successfully breed one in my inventory as they eat your food in your inventory and sometime they eat your BO’s food too lol.

    When I first learn that Tribbles did all that I found it quite humerous but a sure fun way to get a good heal after a ground combat session that leaves you battered or in combat you can get a heal from the Tribble on your hotkey bar is you been out of combat for several seconds you can hit button on Tribble and get a combat heal. That is awesome and have used it quite a bit.
    Lots of neat fun stuff you learn in the game. As well keep a positive outlook on the game and i know i am. Its always so easy to complain about all thats wrong when a ship is trying to right its course turning like a cruiser……. takes a while to make that turn as we all know.


    • Oh my god, Tribbles can heal? So that’s why my BOs were pulling them out after every fight eh, I thought it was just random! That is awesome, thanks for letting me know!


  3. As well a nice neat topic, i’ve had some enjoyable moments as well. Something to write on if i ever get to it at some point.


  4. […] MMO Gamer Chick has three favorite moments from STO so far […]


  5. […] 3 Favorite STO Moments Following in the footsteps of MMO Gamerchick, I’ve decided to list my top three favorite moments in STO so […]



Leave a Reply

