Archive for March 7th, 2010

h1

Off-Duty and Restless

March 7, 2010

Apparently, I’m still leveling much too quickly in Star Trek Online. I find myself grounded once again, waiting for my husband to catch up to me and reach the rank of Captain. Not content to sit on my hands so soon after getting a new ship, I’ve decided to keep playing but make a conscious effort to adhere only to activities that will not gain me any experience. Well, in doing so, I’ve discovered what this game lacks is stuff to do on your “off time”.

Have you ever logged into an MMO not feeling up to doing anything really productive? Where you just want to relax and do something light that won’t take much effort or concentration? That’s what I like to call my off time, where I pop in a movie and find something casual to do in game while I chat with my friends and guildmates. For example, in World of Warcraft I’d be making my way to the the Wetlands to try my luck at farming for the elusive crimson whelpling. In Age of Conan, I’d be looking for ways to be a contributing member of the guild by participating in gaining renown through crafting and gathering. In Lord of the Rings Online, I’d be off buying nice things to decorate my hobbit house.

Finding these fun, frivolous things to do in STO is a little more challenging, however. What’s there to do other than fighting and leveling? The crafting system feels empty and provides little motivation for me to farm anomalous data. I find anything to do with PvP stressful and deeply excruciating, and even if I didn’t I wouldn’t be able to do it without gaining experience. I guess I could always start a new alt, though I’ve become quite attached to T’Androma to the point where playing another character would feel a little strange. Needless to say, I’m at a complete loss when it comes to finding ways to spend my off time in this game. Am I simply just not being creative enough? In any case, I’m certainly open to any suggestions.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,156 other followers