h1

Penciling T’Androma and her Away Team

March 13, 2010

The visual arts have always been a passion of mine, and I’ve been creating art for as long as I can remember. Growing up, I worked with all types of medium — watercolors, oil paints, charcoal, pen and inks, you name it. Right now I do a lot of freelance stuff, and while I enjoy my work immensely, being committed to doing art for others unfortunately leads to less time for my own personal projects. I don’t do as much art for myself as I used to, but every once in a while inspiration will strike.

For the last few years I’ve been helping an amateur writer with his independent comic book projects, and working with him has opened my eyes to the world of  comic book penciling. Though I’d been collecting comics for years, until then I had never attempted the art style. I immediately fell in love with it. Now I often find myself doodling on the extra art boards just for the hell of it, and one thing I love to do is to draw my MMO characters! (The banner for this website, for example, is of my WoW warlock that I did during her Burning Crusade days.)

This particular piece started off as a quick sketch I did a few days ago, but I liked how it turned out so I decided to go back and fill in the details and clean up the pencils. Thanks to my brother and his scanner, I finally had the chance to upload it today. The drawing is of my Star Trek Online character T’Androma (center) with her away team consisting of Donny, Jaime, Sleer (pre-goatee) and Tohuna.  Drawing a Klingon was…interesting. While searching for reference photos, I realized that unlike 99% of Klingons out there, my bridge officer does not have ears covered by massive amounts of hair! Anyway, I thought I’d share the end result here, and you can click to enlarge. Enjoy!

14 comments

  1. Wow, that is absolutely fantastic! I wish I had that kind of skill with pencilling – it’s my favorite art style, I’m just a terrible artist.

    So, uh, do you accept commissions? :^)


  2. LOL I was about to type essentially what Adventurer had written. I think most people wish they could draw/produce art the way talented people can.

    That is a great drawing, GeeCee. And bald Klingons are not unheard of. General Chang, the villain from ST6, played by Christopher Plummer, had just a small lock of hair on the back of his head. http://memory-alpha.org/en/wiki/Chang_%28General%29


  3. Wow, that’s nice work. It looks slightly manga inspired, too. Although I’m not quite sure what it means when I say that, lol.


  4. That is incredible looking! Lovely work!


  5. Those are really good. I’d always wondered where you got your banner art. Now I know. 🙂


  6. Glad you guys liked it. Thanks for the comments, you are all very kind 😀


    • But srsly. Do you accept commissions? I’ve got some dashing bridge officers that would love their mugs drawn up.


      • I do, actually, though I’m not sure if I’ll be able to take any new ones for the next little while because I may be getting prepared for a move soon. If you want though, you can always send me screenshots of your captain and BOs anyway. Every once in a while I’ll do a “serious” piece for my portfolio, using other people’s characters because only drawing my own can get boring (for example, I have done a lot of WoW drawings based on stock screenshots of my guildies’ characters from back in the day) If I ever do it before my time frees up again to take on more commissions, I could send you a scan of it for free…and if you ever end up wanting the original, we can work things out 🙂


    • Totally going to take you up on that and send in my STO captain and main from Champs.


      • By all means, please do. You should have my email right?


      • I have the one you use for commenting on my blog, I assume that one’s ok to use?


      • That’s the one!


  7. I love your style and I love this piece Your style is kinda reminiscent of Michael Turner. Oh,and and I love T’androma,but that slight smile on her face? (shudder)


    • I was a huge fan of Michael Turner actually (RIP). And yes, his stuff had a huge influence on me.



Leave a comment