h1

Starfleet Captains Unite

March 18, 2010

So, yeah, I’ve been playing the crap out of Dragon Age: Origins – Awakening. I just can’t help it, I have no self-restraint when it comes to anything to do with this game. While I love sci-fi and fantasy both, there’s just something about the latter that sinks its teeth into me and won’t let go.

As a result, I haven’t had the chance to play much Star Trek Online for the last few days (or any MMO, for that matter), but luckily I have my TOS DVDs and my STO blogs to satisfy my Star Trek fix. If I want to get the latest information about the game, I know I can always rely on my fellow Starfleet captains. Invaluable game play advice is ever forthcoming from Galo at Deflector Shields and of course, when it comes to game guides, nothing can beat The Engines Cannae’ Take It!

Lately, I’ve also noticed the yummy flavor of roleplaying in a lot of STO blogs, a trend that has me loving Star Trek fans more and more by the day. And to think, I used to think Trekkies were creepy! (Totally just kidding!) The awesome Adventurer Historian surprised me with a story post on his blog the other day, and he now has me impatiently awaiting the next installment. I Have Touched The Sky is a new blog that has boggled my mind with its rich biographies of starship captains Locke and Rowan and their respective bridge officers. And I was also very happy to find Star Trek: Tirpitz because the storylines and narrative structure of the Captain’s logs over there are making me see all the game missions I’ve ever done in a whole new light. Fantastically detailed crew profiles too.

All this makes me want to start my own RP stories about my captain and her crew, but alas, I’m still lacking in too much Trek knowledge to attempt such an endeavor. Though, it’s probably for the best…anything I write will no doubt devolve into a bawdy soap opera in space. The Borg and the Beautiful, anyone? Or Stardates of Our Lives, perhaps. Don’t even tempt me.

Note: Thanks to Adventurer Historian who once did a cool post linking his favorite STO blogs, and in doing so he has inspired me to follow in his footsteps and do the same. Also I’m always on the lookout for blogs dedicated to STO, so if you run one or know of someone who does, please let me know.

9 comments

  1. Man, thank you for the kind words! You inspired me to stay up late and bang out just a little more of the story; I’m sorry it’s so short, and that very little happens, but that’s a natural ending place for it – the next part should be a bit longer.

    Also, you should totally not worry about any fiction you write devolving into a bawdy space soap opera. For starters, bawdy space soap operas are actually fun. And second, do you realize how much Kirk/McCoy/Spock slash fiction is out there? It’s terrifying. You could do much worse than having a cute romance between two Vulcans of the opposite sex.


    • LOL believe me, I know of the slash fiction…in fact, just the other day, I showed my husband a Spock/Kirk fan music video on youtube that had him wailing “Noooo, not my beloved TOS!” while fighting not to claw his eyes out. You’re right, it’s terrifying indeed.

      I guess I couldn’t possibly do worse. But geez, think about it…a relationship between two intensely logical and emotionally repressed Vulcans? It would make for a terrible romance…or a hilariously awkward one. Though really, in my mind my first officer is half-human, so that might actually lead to some interesting dramatic possibilities…hmm.

      Crap, I told you, you’re not supposed to be tempting me.


      • Let the finger touching begin!


      • Well, I think you could write some totally awesome fiction. It would be such an interesting premise that it would definitely be fun to read! Everyone knows that emotional repression makes for wacky antics!

        Your entire crew is probably one big group of tsunderes. “It’s… it’s not like I like you or anything! But… here’s a new phaser rifle.”


  2. Thanks for the mention as well. The road to inspiration is vast and wide i would guess. I’m sure as much as each one of us inspire another, we too as well are inspired by others.

    Not quite sure what to say either, just for loss of words really.

    However i would like to think their is room enough to RP your Star Trek world or story. To make one up as well as your story in the backdrop of STO which does give you room enough to make one up. Their are crew BIO pages for a reason I can only guess to enrich ones game of characters.

    I’m personally just not as good at natural RP, i’ll admit that, yet every time i think of my character and crew I cant help but wish they all had a story in some way. Just thinking of a Captains story is hard enough let alone 5 others for my BO’s.

    Whatever story you come up with i can only guess would seem to enrich the characters you have created or your BO’s as well. I find them interesting myself to read just like a story within a game story.

    I say go for it. We all know its a game as well.


  3. I too would like to add my thanks for being mentioned. And thank you for the compliment on the crew profiles. There have been a few times when I’ve wondered if it was worth the effort to do them. Since I’m writing in the form of a captain’s log, I wonder from time to time about how much characterization I should be including. But I do like the idea that it’s there if I ever do need or want it.

    I will admit that I did have a little bit of help with the character backgrounds. I still have the Next Generation and DS9 core books for the old Trek RPG from Last Unicorn Games. They both have a character history generator. They don’t provide a huge amount of information for the character’s back story (usually just a few words about skills and attributes the character would have picked up), but it did provide a nice frame work for what the characters would be doing at different points in their lives.


    • Oh, it was definitely worth the effort, I would say, especially given the way you write your entries. I feel more connected to the logs when I have a better idea of who are the characters involved.


  4. W00t!! Thank you so much for the blog love. I haven’t even been doing anything this week. Spending time with my girls in DC has been fun though, though.

    And I should add, you are the main reason I even even started my STO blog.


  5. Wow. You are a role player 😛

    Very creative soap titles, though!



Leave a Reply

