h1

Insolence Will be Met With Force Lightning

March 19, 2010

As expected, the new update at the Star Wars: The Old Republic site today was a Fan Friday, showcasing some community creations and a Developer Corner.

Today’s tidbits:

– A video that takes a look at the force lightning effects of the Sith Inquisitor, which invoked some mixed reactions from me. I’m quite impressed by them; the abilities themselves seem quite powerful (looks like some AoE, a little crowd control, and a little bit of wheee, let’s send ’em flying!) and seem very well done graphically, at least at first glance. Fans of Knights of the Old Republic might be thinking, “Whoa, deja vu” when they see the whirlwind animation, and a part of me does think that it looks a bit out of place.

– Confirmation of character customization options, showing us a sample of the available facial tattoos, make-up, skin tones, hairstyles and dare I say, even a hint at some choice in jewelry and other adornments. And this is just the humans. I never had a doubt that we would be able to make our characters unique.

Surprise, surprise, overall this has been a Fan Friday I really enjoyed.

4 comments

  1. You enjoy all Fan Fridays!


    • Damn, so true. I need to be a grumpy, nerdraging cynic more often.


      • Never! Fight the good fight with me! Positive, upbeat blogists for a happier tomorrow!

        One of these days, I’m going to be denounced as a “Cryptic fanboy” (boi?) and GASP they’ll lynch me.


      • Hate to break it to you, but I think people like you and me (you know, the positive types 😛 ) been labeled as such a long time ago LOL.

        Well, a fangirl I be then. Honestly, I’m a really laid back person and I like almost everything! That’s not to say I don’t ever have a negative opinion, but a game would have to screw up big time for me to go on a rant about it. After all, why sweat the little things? 🙂



Leave a Reply

