h1

Eh, There’s No Harm In Rooting For Your Favorite Developer

April 7, 2010

Folks on the Star Wars: The Old Republic forums and Bioware fans everywhere have been rallying for support in the final round of Escapist Magazine’s March Mayhem Developer’s Showdown.

It’s down to Bioware vs. Valve, two massive juggernauts that need no introduction in the world of gaming. Their contributions to gamers everywhere over the years have been numerous and profound.

It was a bit of a tough one even for me. Valve has Portal, Half Life, Team Fortress and Left 4 Dead under its belt, not to mention their work in digital distribution. But in the end, I had to go with Bioware, which has Baldur’s Gate, Knights of the Old Republic, Mass Effect, Dragon Age and the upcoming SWTOR, and is recognized for their role in revolutionizing RPGs with their story-driven elements. It was also nice to see that some of the other developers that I like fought the good fight — Rocksteady (Batman Arkham Asylum was awesome!), Bethesda, and Turbine among others.

May this final battle be a gentlemen’s duel, and good luck to both developers.

7 comments

  1. i still don’t get why the hell valve is there in the final if it’s dev of the “year”.


  2. Bioware should win. It’s not a matter of personal taste, just a matter of right or wrong 🙂


    • Way to up the stakes, yo.


  3. I don’t particularly like internet popularity contests, but i’m definitely more of a bioware fan.

    does nobody else like neverwinter nights? Nobody ever mentions it, I liked it.


    • Heh heh, like I said in the title, no harm in doing a little cheerleading. And you’re right about Neverwinter Nights…I remember it, but for some reason it just happens to be one of those great Bioware games that people leave out. Jade Empire too. Maybe they just have too many good games, people can only list the really big ones, which is what I did.


  4. If push came to shove, I think I’d have to go with BioWare, too. On the whole, their games have had more meaning for me.

    However, it’s close. I’d best not think to hard about Half-Life and its sequels, or I’ll lose my confidence.


  5. We should chant Valve because Bioware is run by the man.



Leave a Reply

