h1

I Can Remember The Shire

April 7, 2010

For my birthday, my awesome brother got me the special edition of the Lord of the Rings trilogy on Blu-ray which just came out. I was so excited; I hadn’t seen these movies since they were first released in theaters back when I was still in university. Well, I know what I’ll be watching on TV while I do my drawings for the next couple of days! Three words (okay fine, technically two and an acronym): LOTR MARATHON TIME.

Folks who have been reading my blog for a while now know that I stopped playing Lord of the Rings Online in mid-February because Star Trek Online came out and sucked up all my gaming time. I always knew it wasn’t going to be a permanent hiatus, however; I enjoyed LOTRO way too much to give it up just like that. Since I’m at max rank in STO now and also just about to hit the level cap in Age of Conan, those two games haven’t been as demanding of my time anymore. I’m not big into alts either (World of Warcraft is the exception), but I’m still in the mood for leveling…so I’ve been seriously contemplating about making a return to Middle-earth. It’s either that, or rolling a Blood Elf (I know, shame on me) in WoW to experience Azeroth as a Horde character before Cataclysm changes everything.

Somehow I’ll find the time to do both at some point, but what first? Before this afternoon, the decision was still somewhat 50/50. I think I want to play LOTRO more because I didn’t get as far as I would have liked with it, and it’ll be a refreshing experience. But WoW is appealing too because my husband still plays and there’s no telling how much the early parts of the game will change, even though the expansion is still a long way off.

But curse these LOTR movies for making me miss Middle-earth so…damn…much. I’m an artist, I can’t help being a visual person. Remember how The Fellowship of the Ring starts off with Frodo running up to meet Gandalf as he rolls into town in his little horse-drawn cart? So beautiful, so serene. Seeing those images again reminds me of how much fun I had when I was in The Shire in LOTRO. I miss my Hobbit Minstrel and her funny little battle cry. I miss my little Hobbit house nestled into the green hillside. I miss the fields of yellow flowers, the peaceful lakeside views, the happy-go-lucky NPCs.

Hell, I even miss the pie-running.

7 comments

  1. Oh the pie quests!

    The Shire is, so far, my favorite zone in LOTRO.


  2. LOTRO landscapes inspire a feeling of overwhelming grandeur. When returning to LOTRO I often just ride around and watch for a while. Funnily, the latest book update really required me to ride around a lot. 😉


  3. Heh, I guess I need to get back to playing that, I touched it since that first night.


  4. Love the landscapes in LotRO. With the exception of Angmar, I can’t think of any zone in LotRO that I don’t like. Even the Lonelands and North Downs which many people complain are just drab, I like the sense of space and barrenness. Forochel is similar, it is a very white zone, but it still has a beauty and character of it’s own.


  5. The Shire is by far my favorite zone in LoTRO. It was the first zone on my first toon, and I was totally hooked from there one. I have done every single quest there on two different toons now, including pie running and mail. You can also earn the may favorite title there (Honorary Shirrif!)


  6. I think I’m leaning more towards LOTRO. I’ve run the updater already, just in case.


    • Excellent choice. New character or existing? Server?



Leave a Reply

