h1

Return To Middle-Earth

April 13, 2010

It was the right time. I had hit the level cap in Star Trek Online and Age of Conan, but I’m still not over the leveling bug.

So last night I went back to Lord of the Rings Online, and decided to start all over with a new character. According to Blue Kae, all the cool kids play on Landroval, so it was there I rolled my Hobbit Minstrel, Kiskadee. I know Hobbit females are generally named after flowers or gemstones, but I just wanted something a little different. Hence, my character is named for a tropical, passerine bird. I thought it was quite appropriate for my brave little Hobbit, since the vivacious Greater Kiskadee is known for its strength and ability to fight off much larger birds. But it’s a little ironic at the same time, as my character’s a minstrel but the kiskadee isn’t generally appreciated as a songbird.

But enough with the biology lesson, let’s get on to LOTRO. I’ve only been gone for about two months, but for some reason the game is more beautiful than I remember. First AoC and now LOTRO…when it comes to graphics, I’m totally being spoiled here (how am I ever going to go back to World of Warcraft?) Like, take the image below. It’s not overly impressive as screen captures go, but I must have stood there for like 10 minutes just staring at that sky. The sun was just setting, the clouds were lazily drifting by…and if you look really closely, you can just barely catch a glimpse of the rainbow arcing off to the right.

Details, details!

Kiskadee, the Hobbit Minstrel.

14 comments

  1. LOTRO is starting to age, but it’s still VERY VERY beautiful. Esspecially the sky, both day and night. My favorite is to be a hobbit, go outside Archet and just stand in that field of flowers. The wind ripples through the field and it’s just amazing.

    Of course I hate the real outdoors. Kind of weird.


    • I know exactly where you’re talking about, I was standing right there mesmerized myself.


  2. I like your nerdy name 🙂

    My main, Silene (also a female hobbit), is named after a genus of flower . One species, Silene capensis (the African Dreamroot), only opens at night and is used to induce lucid dreams by certain tribes. Since I mainly play at night, it seemed appropriate.


    • I like your name too, and it’s very meaningful.


  3. Kiskadee is an awesome name, even more so for the songbird background. Looks like the patching process wasn’t too painful then. I’ll add you to my friends list next time I’m on so I can keep an eye out for you.


    • No, it wasn’t bad at all. And I already added you to my friends list!


  4. Next, we lose GeeCee in Aion!


  5. I’m on Landrovel too I haven’t played in about 6 months tho. I just can’t get into the game. The toons walk funny


    • Same here,i come back and play on Landroval for the free weekends sometimes but i cant get into the game, although its not because they walk funny.


  6. I come and go from LOTRO and quite honestly it is the most stunning mmo out there, the problem is that I don’t really find the end game content to be quite enough to keep me hooked between expansions.


  7. Have to hand it to Turbine, they know how to create scenery. I have to second the “funny walk” comment though, and their faces all seem a little off to me. Give me my human priest or a Belf any day.


  8. It’s true though, about the walking. From the back, my hobbit looks like she runs like a little old granny.


    • Hard to run with those stubby legs.



Leave a Reply

