Archive for April 18th, 2010

h1

Good Weather = No Gaming and Kick-Ass

April 18, 2010

It was such a beautiful day out today, it didn’t feel right to stay in and play games. I’m just so happy the weather’s getting better, because it’s been a really crappy Canadian winter (seriously, is there any other kind?) and I was getting pretty sick of spending my weekends being cooped up inside. Seeing the sun out today made the outdoors simply irresistible, and so my husband and I spent our day out enjoying the sights and sounds of Toronto on this warm spring day.

We wrapped up our day with a trip to the movie theater tonight, where we ended up watching Kick-Ass, parts of which were filmed right here in the city, so in a way we got to enjoy Toronto onscreen as well. In fact, one scene in the movie was shot right outside the very theater we were sitting in, which made for a pretty surreal experience (ooh, I think I can see my house in that aerial shot!)

I’d been looking forward to this movie, since I’ve read and enjoyed the comic. For those who have also read it, I’m happy to say that the movie is quite different, so it would still be worth watching. I had a pretty good time with it, though I have to say I haven’t seen such ridiculousness and this many bullets fly in a movie since Shoot ‘Em Up. Can’t say I wasn’t thoroughly entertained though, once I threw all notions of reality out the window and just sat back and enjoyed the ride. In about 50 years I’m sure I’ll be looking back at this movie thinking, “Wow, what a loud, stupid waste of time this was!” but until then, I’m not going to feel bad about laughing my ass off.

Anyway, I don’t think I’ve touched my PC all day until now, and I have to say it feels great! I’ve noticed in the past that as the weather gets better, my gaming time tends to go down. Gotta enjoy these nice days whenever they come around, after all. I hope all my fellow gamers also had a fun and geek-tastic weekend.