h1

Little Pearls Of Nerdom

April 22, 2010

1. First the Marines, then the Na’vi, and now Starfleet. When’s it going to be enough for Jake Sully?

A few of us in the Federation News Service have joked about our fleetmate Bryn looking like one of those aliens from Avatar, but we all know that it’s just a coincidence. The other day, however, I ran across the real deal. I was at the Earth Spacedock tailor making some changes to my uniform when I turned around and ran right smack into this guy. Hmm, not a bad attempt at a Na’vi, and I’m once again impressed by the options offered by the Star Trek Online character creator. I daresay he’s to scale too.

Coincidentally, today is also the release date for the DVD/Blu-ray for Avatar. The fact that it’s Earth Day is no accident.

2. Beam me up, Mr. Prime Minister!

To understand this one, here’s this short lesson in Canadian politics: here in Canada, we have something called a Governor General, or a viceregal representative of the Queen. He or she is selected by the Prime Minster of Canada and appointed by the Queen. The role is mainly ceremonial. And well, a week ago, our current GG has confirmed that her tenure is ending. Political publications all over the country are already speculating about her replacement.

This week, a rocketing public campaign has emerged to promote the nomination of William Shatner as the next Governor General of Canada. While all this is done with tongue in cheek, he’s kicking the competition’s ass. I gotta say, this is giving me a good laugh and all, but I can’t help but imagine: Shatner as our country’s ceremonial head of state…well, why the hell not? A graduate of McGill University, he’s educated and bilingual, and one of our nation’s most famous actors. Oh, and did I mention that he’s friggin’ Captain James T. Kirk? See above image.

3. Making the pilgrimage to Bag End.

One of the most famous landmarks in The Shire, Bag End was the former home of Bilbo and Frodo Baggins. It’s also the setting of some of the most significant events found in J.R.R. Tolkien’s works. I only found out last night that it was a place I could actually visit in Lord of the Rings Online. Thanks to Blue Kae, I learned enough to pull off a quick stopover at this unassuming little Hobbit hole before I left for the Bree-lands. Apparently, a lot of players visit this place first when they find themselves in The Shire. For me, it was the last, but better late than never is what I always say! At least now I can say I’ve been there.

12 comments

  1. william shatner as GG. I find this to be an embarassing possibility.


    • I would personally LOVE it! But I think his “Priceline.com” work has kind of disqualified him (image wise) from the job. That, and the lack of “serious”/service things in his life experience. That I know of, anyways 😛


      • Image wise, not to mention his World of Warcraft commercial…and Miss Congeniality. 😛


      • His role on “Miss Congeniality” would totally sell me for nominating him as Governor General 😀 “She’s beauty and she’s grace, she’s Miss… United States!”


  2. This really cracked me up. 🙂 I am a huge fan of Captain Kirk. His name is also funny. If you pronounce the “i” in the name in a special way, it almost sounds like an odd bird or a frog: Kiirk!!…Kiiirk!!


  3. Shatner as GG would make me want to be a Canadian even more!


  4. You very much need to get to 20 and get your cosmetic outfit slot ;p. Also, Shatner as the GG, I can just see Star Trek Cons being held outside his offices as Trekkies and Trekkers from all over the world have picket signs demanding to be beamed up.


    • Almost to 20! Though one of the joys of leveling in any game is moving up the ranks looking like a box of crayons threw up on you!


  5. Stinkin’ Na’vi, give other blue aliens a bad name. 😛

    That’s cool news about Shatner as GG, it’s almost enough for me to move and brave the Canadian winters.

    Glad you enjoyed your visit to Bag End, I hope Lobelia and her son weren’t too unpleasant.


    • Such a pity that the current residents of Bag End aren’t exactly the nicest people 😦


  6. This guy is not the only one I’ve seen. I’m not fond of mixing IPs, which why I don’t have a ship named Serenity. Come on people!


    • I tend to agree with you for the most part. While I am guilty of throwing a few references in here and there, they’re mostly kept in the background. It’s not like I’m going out and building a Narn officer.

      hmmm…



Leave a Reply

