h1

The Coolest Question I’ve Ever Been Asked On A Guild Application

April 25, 2010

For me, it was: “What’s your zombie contingency plan?”

This was a question on the application for a fleet I had considered joining in Star Trek Online, before I ended up with the Federation News Service and even before I was with the now defunct Citrus Task Force. It sprang unexpectedly to my mind today as my husband and I were driving up north for our weekend retreat to the Georgian Bay area. We were making our way across a quaint little bridge overlooking a picturesque lakeside view when I told him what a fantastic place this would be to escape to…in the event of a fullscale zombie attack.

In response, he told me that I was the only person he knows who can drive through scenic cottage country and think about a thing like that. But I told him, you know I’m right. We were on a road with Lake Muskoka on one side and Lake Rosseau on the other, and the place we were headed to was connected to the mainland only by this narrow neck of land. Assuming zombies can’t use boats, it’s completely defensible, especially at locations like the bridge we’d just crossed. Everywhere you look is a freshwater source, and it’s a beautiful area to boot. The latter point might seem like an insignificant afterthought, but keep in mind, you might be here for a long, long time. It’d be nice to have something pretty to look at.

Set up trap for zombies here.

Anyway, my husband now thinks that our kids will grow up so messed up because of me, but whatever, at least I have a zombie apocalypse plan, one that’s better than my original plan which was to lock myself up in the basement washroom like a wuss with a nine-iron, a bunch of non-perishables and a bathtub full of water.

And in case you’re wondering, I didn’t end up applying to that fleet. I would have because they seemed like a nice bunch of people who knew how to have fun, but I wouldn’t join any guild without my husband and he wasn’t about to share his top-secret zombie apocalypse plan.

11 comments

  1. Do you think zombies can’t walk underwater? You are so naive.


    • I’ll admit, I’m banking on the hopes that they won’t be of the shark wrestling variety.


      • They could always bite the sharks, then you’d have zombie sharks. Or worse zombies riding zombie sharks. :O


  2. This totally made my day starting my day at work.

    Top Secret plans suppose to stay Secret.


  3. waaaiiittt… so your hubby is in FNN?

    Cool!


    • Yes, though he’s hardly been on. He’s effectively ditched me in STO 😦


      • Booo! Bad Mr. GeCe.


      • That means… you can level without him?

        OH WAIT you’re at the cap already. darn


  4. Hold on to those twinkies!


  5. […] MMO Gamer Chick shares the coolest guild application question ever […]


  6. A good wife would level up his character for him while he watches sports on tv.



Leave a Reply

