Archive for April 27th, 2010

h1

A Wonderful WoW Memory

April 27, 2010

Sure, it’s easy to dump on World of Warcraft these days. Whether it deserves it or not, the point is one doesn’t have to look very far to find yet another rage post about the sparkly pony, how WoW has become a stale and tedious affair, and other not-so-nice things in general. That’s why it’s so refreshing to see an article like this from Rivs, who recalls a list of his memorable moments from the game. It’s a nice reminder to all WoW players (former and present) that while the game has had its up and downs, no one can deny that it has given us all some rockin’ memories.

His post made me think about my own wonderful WoW memories, and let me tell you, I’ve accumulated many during the years playing from vanilla through to Wrath of the Lich King. If I had to choose just one to talk about, of course it would have to be meeting my husband. But if you want an actual memory related to game content itself, then I’ll have to say my best memory is this one particular fight with Magtheridon during the good old Burning Crusade days. It’s been a few years, but luckily I still had this screenshot someone else from the raid sent to me saved in my email:

Ironically, this particular incident is also an example of one of the biggest fails I’ve ever experienced with my old guild during my tenure with them as raid leader. What can I say? Mags is a complicated fight, someone  messing up during a crucial moment of the fight can cause everybody else to die. We’d done the fight before, but we also had a handful of newcomers in our raid that one particular night, a couple of younger members of our guild and a few people who have never even seen Magtheridon filling in for our usual members who couldn’t make it. We as raid leaders had to take what we could get if we wanted to get things moving.

Anyway, the attempt started off terribly. Even my usually reliable cube clickers were not doing what they were supposed to, and we lost a lot of people to Blast Novas. And of course, just because everything that could go wrong did go wrong, at 35% those trigger happy DPS who were still alive at that point caused another Blast Nova to coincide with his deadly roof shatter. There I was, tanking away at Mags on my feral druid thinking, Are you @#$%ing kidding me?, too flabbergasted to even chastise people in Vent. Somehow, through a miracle we managed to get him down to just a sliver of health…at which point we had lost all our cube clickers, and the gallant few who were still left finally fell.

Save for me and a stubborn little paladin, healing me with everything he had left to give.

So close! But there was still no way Mags was going to go down, especially with me swiping away at him with my paltry bear DPS while he was still pummeling at me, with hundred thousands of hit points still left in his health bar. “Just let me die, Eddie,” I told the pally, “there’s no way we can do this just the two of us. Good attempt, guys,” — *cough* *cough* — “we’ll get him next try.”

But that determined healadin adamantly told me no, and refused to stop showering me with Holy Light. I went with it, and God bless that pally and his “Leave-No-One-Behind” attitude that I’ve come to love in healers. Through a series of well-timed heals on his part and fortuitous dodges on mine, lo and behold, all of a sudden the fearsome Magtheridon just keeled over and died.

I wasn’t even paying attention to Mags’ health bar at that point, too focused on my own trying to stay alive, so I could not believe my eyes when that happened, and neither could anyone else in the raid. You can still see me and the pally in the above screenshot, taken just seconds after Mags fell, two lone survivors standing amidst the carnage as well as the comments of disbelief in chat.

And that was my wonderful WoW memory. One more big thanks to Rivs (and happy blog-day to him) for letting me relive that moment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,156 other followers