h1

Raptr

May 2, 2010

I’ve been meaning to sign up for an application that would help me keep track of my games and how much I play, and I’ve been weighing my options. A few bloggers have suggested Raptr. All I can say is, wow, it’s very…thorough. I hadn’t expected so many features, not that I’ll ever use all of them, but I’m pretty sure I’ve worked out what needs to be linked up and what doesn’t.

I guess it’s kinda nice to be able to track all my game stuff in one place, and if anyone wants to add me up and say hello, you’re welcome to. The main objective is really to see if I’m as big a failure at juggling MMOs as I thought I was.

Raptr Forum Signature

13 comments

  1. too bad the chat is fuxored


  2. I’ve been using Raptr too, mostly because it tweets what I’m doing though. ๐Ÿ™‚ I *think* it finally has an in-game chat overlay but I haven’t had the opportunity to try it yet. As long as the sound effects aren’t as bad as Xfire’s was back when I had that installed…

    I still think Steam has the best chat overlay out there, but it doesn’t always play nicely with non-Steam games.


    • It apparently does have an in-game chat overlay but I haven’t had any luck getting it to work so far (hence the above conversation with Z). If you’re on raptr too, add me up! ๐Ÿ˜€


    • It does do in-game chat, but only for certain games so far. If you click on the games button to bring up the launcher window, you should see a checkbox that turns overlay on/off.

      I’ve not used the overlay myself, but I usually play windowed.


      • I’ve had no luck getting overlay working in LOTRO so far, even with enabling the game overlay in options, restarting and starting, etc.

        I also had issues getting raptr to track STO for me last night, even though I started the game from the client. I had to restart the comp, run raptr as administrator to finally get it to work.


      • I’ve had problems getting Raptr to recognize a game is running occasionally, never had to reboot though. Usually it’s enough to exit the game and relaunch it. (I’m using Win7, 64bit)


  3. I used xfire for a long time. never heard of raptr.


  4. I loaded it up and sent an invite. Anyone can feel free to lookup Thac0 on Raptr and add me.

    I have also added you, rowan, and the historian to my friends list in AoC. I’ll say Hi if i see you guys on Wiccana.


    • Rockin’!


  5. Accepted your’s and Rowan’s invites, hope you guys enjoy the service. I like the tracking so that I can figure out what I’ve been playing and how much (mostly for blogging purposes). The Twitter statuses and notifications are nice for trying to coordinate with friends too.


  6. I don’t think I’m going to get into raptr for now but I noticed your Xbox profile ๐Ÿ™‚ If you don’t mind I’ll send you an invite when I get on Xbox later. Or if you want to send me one at my gamer tag: HLono. Just write its you because I get too many spammers ๐Ÿ™‚


  7. wooooooooooo, xbox!



Leave a Reply

