h1

Mom Rocks!

May 9, 2010

My mom has never expressed much of an interest in gaming (though she did have this obsessive bout with her Tetris handheld back in the mid-90’s) and in general, she and I have very little in common. If she even knew I had a game blog, she’d probably roll her eyes. Nevertheless, I could not have asked for a better mother.

I can’t say she approves of gaming. Growing up, she was always more of a “do your homework, eat your vegetables” kind of mom, conservative as they come. Even now she thinks that games are a waste of time. Still, I remember when I was 12 years old, my brother and I were completely caught up in the Pokemon craze. At the time, the Game Boy games were sold out at retail stores all across the country, which didn’t really matter because we didn’t think we’d be allowed to buy it anyway. One day, however, my mother surprised us with copy of Pokemon Red. My brother and I were ecstatic! Afterward, I found out that she had called places on the phone until she found a store that still had stock, and then drove hours out of her way to pick it up. Online ordering wasn’t a big thing yet then! I could just imagine how pointless she felt the whole Pokemon fad was, but she did it anyway —  just to give her kids a nice surprise and see them happy.

That memory touches me still when I look back, especially given her stance on gaming. She and my father work overseas now so I only get to see them about once a year, but my mother and I still have an excellent relationship even after all these years she’s had to put up with my crap. I know I haven’t always been a good daughter.

On this day, give mom a hug, send her flowers, or just call to send your love. To moms everywhere, have a happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

