h1

Cue The Imperial March

May 21, 2010

Friday Star Wars: The Old Republic update — third issue of Blood of the Empire is  out.

Feeling Hoth Hoth Hoth

But of course, the really big news of the week is that yesterday, Hoth was confirmed as another planet. I had a feeling they weren’t done with those, and now I guess the people who were demanding an ice planet can finally be happy (well…I guess all except for those who were calling for Ilum).

Anyway, Hoth is great. But ever since I heard the news, I wondered how Bioware was going to justify its relevance in this time period, and I guess the term “starship graveyard” has a nice way of making me forget my doubts. And I’m just gonna go ahead and ask the question that’s on everybody’s mind: Can I has Tauntaun mount, please?

The Hoth announcement is also Bioware’s way of celebrating the fact that on this day 30 years ago, Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back opened in movie theaters.

"From toys, to fashion, to punk rock, its influence is everywhere." -- Sean Dahlberg

I curse the fact I was born a little too late for it, but I’ve often thought about what it must have been like to see that movie on the big screen back in 1980 and I envy anyone who did. I mean, it changed Star Wars 4ever! And because, if there’s ever a geekier, more self-indulgent and unscientific use for a time machine, I’d really like to hear it. Seriously, I would, you know…just in case.

33 comments

  1. I saw it in the theater in 1980. 😛 Awesome even at 8-years-old. Although I agree with you. What will they use it for in SWTOR? The rebels in ESB picked the remote Hoth so they could *hide* from the Empire.


    • AAAaaaaaHHHhhhhhaaaaHHHH JEALOUS!

      I know there are theaters out there that do Star Wars marathons, but it just isn’t the same. And more often than not, they play the bastardized “updated” versions of the original trilogy 😡


      • >:@ HAN SHOT FIRST!!!


      • 😡 And Jabba wasn’t in Episode 4!


      • The Han shoots first thing is pretty bad, but what I can’t forgive is the changing of the music. Dear George Lucas, the Cantina music is classic, how could you go and replace it? Oh, and same goes for the ewok celebration music at the end of RotJ as well.

        Speaking of that, sticking the image of Hayden Christensen into the end there was unforgivable.

        WHYYY?!?


      • I grew up watching the Special Edition trilogy on VHS, over and over again, so I’m not quite able to tell what’s original and what isn’t.

        It’s sad, but true.

        That being said, I am still a deep Star Wars “fan”.


  2. I didn’t get to see Empire in the theater, I do remember seeing Return of the Jedi though and sitting in the car afterwards making lightsaber noises.

    If I had a time machine, I would go back to 1977 and watch Star Wars first.


    • Of course, that too 😀 But if I can only go back once, it would be for ESB just for the more emotionally charged atmosphere.


  3. I remember seeing Empire in the theatre, although I was pretty young at the time. The funny things is that what I remember most is my younger brother’s friend who fell asleep about half way through.


    • Haha, reminds me of my little cousins falling asleep half way through Phantom Menace, but then again I can’t really blame them for that.


  4. I saw it in the theater too. The movie sucked then and still sucks. ESB was my least favorite move until Episode 1 came out


    • I liked Empire enough, a bit more than the first one if only for Boba Fett and Yoda. But Return of the Jedi will always be my absolute favorite SW movie. People think I’m crazy, but it’s the most “feel-good” one out of all of them.


      • I really dig the Throne Room duel in RotJ, so I understand where you’re coming from. Call me crazy, but I think it’s the best Star Wars fight, with the best music.

        Well, “Duel of the Fates” is really good, too.


      • Duel of the Fates has definitely become a favorite of mine.


  5. Man, Hoth! That’s great! It’ll give me an opportunity to say to friends ‘Then I’ll see you in hell!’ right before I run off to do quests.

    Also, I’m really digging Blood of the Empire. I’m glad we got another update.


    • I haven’t read it yet, but I’m looking forward to checking it out tonight. Is it just me, or does it seem like the webcomic updates are coming more frequently for Blood of the Empire than for Threat of Peace? Not that I’m complaining, I too am digging BotE.


      • Maybe we’re just more excited about BotE? I didn’t much care for “Threat of Peace.” The artwork was crappy, the writing bad, and the plot confusing.


  6. Old fart female gamer checking in! I was born in 1963. You do the math at how long I’ve been a Star Wars fan. 😀

    Anyway, I’m hoping that Corellia is in since I would like my character to be from there. But if it is overrun by Sith that would make me sad.


    • That’s awesome!

      And Corellia would be a great addition, one that would make me cheer for sure if it was announced. Myself, I’m hoping for Ryloth…a long shot, but a girl can hope 🙂


      • Dantooine was always my favorite from KOTOR, so I’m glad to hear it’ll be in the game.


      • Dantooine was in the Threat of Peace comics, but I don’t think it has been announced…yet (like I said, we can always hope!)


      • Oh, it hasn’t been? Bummer. But I have no doubt it’ll show up, eventually. Bioware has a lot of real estate on that planet of plains.


  7. I remember seeing it in the theater. I was 5 years old. I also remember is was thunder storming really bad on the way there.


    • Wow, nice…I can’t really remember any theater experience from when I was five, at least, not for any movie that will have any lasting significance in pop culture history.


      • Heh, all I remember from the Star Wars in ’77 was the wait. For my oldest brother’s birthday, we drove like an hour to a one-screen theater that was playing the movie–in October. The movie had come out in May! We waited through an entire showing of the movie before our group was let in. I was five.


  8. I remember the last thirty minutes of that movie pretty much blowing my mind in 1980. Han Solo gets encased in a big slab of stone and hauled away by some guy !? The whole “Luke, I’m your father” thing and then Luke get his hand chopped off !! I was no where near prepared for such a dark movie.

    It’s far and away my favorite of the six movies these days.


    • Yeah, it was just as memorable for me even watching it on tape in the early 90s…I was so shaken by that scene where Luke gets his hand chopped off (I was a wimpy kid LOL), I still get that unsettling feeling when I watch that part now.


  9. Oh god, tauntaun mounts. That would insure the “smelled bad on the outside” joke would be repeated 20 times a day every damn day.

    and there are much more geekier and self indulgent uses for time machines. I’m going to link a youtube video now, I hate how they embed in comments. I apologize.


    • LOL hilarious and so true. If I ever meet George Lucas I wouldn’t know whether to shake his hand or punch him.


      • I kind of feel the same way, but I’m in love with Qui-Gon Jinn, so… mixed emotions here. :p


      • Holy crap, I had the biggest crush on Qui-Gon Jinn as well! Maybe it’s because I think Liam Neeson is awesome 😀


  10. Oooh, Hoth is gonna be very exciting 🙂 I’m really surprised it never made it into SWG actually. Probably because they couldn’t come up with enough content for it, maybe.


    • You’re probably right, to be honest, I don’t know how much content anyone could come up with enough content for a desolate ice planet like Hoth. The whole “site of a huge space battle” and “littered with wreckage” spin Bioware has got going sounds intriguing, but there’s got to be more.



Leave a Reply

