h1

On iPhone Games And Apps

May 22, 2010

So, a while ago, I got myself an iPod Touch. I love the thing. I mean, it’s so small and thin and smooth, every time I hold it in my hand I get this weird urge to skip it across a lake. Anyway, the reason why I didn’t go with an iPhone was because I was perfectly happy with my Blackberry, and in any case, what I really needed first and foremost was a device that would serve as a dedicated music player. Anything more would just be gravy.

But that said, I’d be a fool if I didn’t take advantage of the many apps available. So far I’ve only downloaded a handful — mostly news apps but also a few social ones like Facebook so I can quickly scan the headlines or see what my friends are up to. What I’ve shied away from so far, believe it or not, are the games. I don’t know, somehow I’d convinced myself that trying to tap out a high score on a tiny screen just wouldn’t be my thing.

However, a couple days ago, both Biobreak and Scarybooster posted articles talking about iPhone games. Now normally, like Syp I’d rather just read a book (on the Kindle app!) if I ever found myself out somewhere waiting around with nothing else to do. But reading those articles got me thinking that maybe I should give iPhone games a try. I could download a few just to mess around with them, it couldn’t hurt. So, I went ahead and grabbed a bunch that looked interesting off the top 25  list in the free category.

Anyway, I played around with all the games, found that not surprisingly, some were more entertaining than others. I had fun, but in the end I just couldn’t get into any of them.

Maybe I’ve been spoiled by years of gaming on computers and high-definition TVs. Or it could be the fact that the quality of free games is generally lower than that of the ones you have to pay for. Or maybe there’s just something wrong with me. I don’t know. After all, everyone else around me seems to like ’em. Even the simplest of games get a lot of love. My best friend is constantly obsessed over a high score for this iPhone game or that, my brother’s roommate apparently has a Doodle Jump addiction, and my husband could probably spend hours playing Paper Toss if I left him alone long enough with my iPod Touch.

For now, I’ll probably stick with my books. But I haven’t given up yet. I don’t doubt there’s probably an iPhone game out there just waiting to hook me, I probably just need to get schooled on what’s hot and what’s not. Scary seems to enjoy Angry Birds, and I imagine that’s gotta be a #1 game for a reason. Hey, for $0.99, maybe I’ll give that one a shot for my first paid game! I will also welcome any other suggestions — and not just games either, I’d love recommendations on cool apps just in general. Like I said, for the moment I’ve only experimented with a handful.

And speaking of cool apps — getting back into World of Warcraft led me to download the Mobile Armory. Damn, what a nifty MMO app, especially with this Remote Auction House thing that’s now in beta. I’m now pondering the mobile authenticator, even though I already have a regular one.

8 comments

  1. Like I said in my post, Angry Birds is easy to play but hard to master. There are so many hidden things and the strategy to master a level is intense. The lite version does not do the game justice. There is so much more to the game and for $.99, why the heck not?


    • Yeah, I’m going to get it and see what the fuss is all about!


      • I’m on the higher puzzles now and they take stat to complete. I’ve been stuck on 1 for 3 days now. It takes perfect timing and perfect exacution


      • Okay yeah, Angry Birds is pretty fun! I can definitely see this one getting addictive.


  2. I have a lot of trouble getting into portable games just generally. I went through three iterations of the Game Boy. While I liked the design of the last one with the flip screen a lot, I don’t think I ever played anything on it all the way through.

    Wait, scratch that, I did actually get through Phantasy Star (the original one). Drew maps of the dungeons on graph paper and everything. Ok, but that was a fluke. Bought at least a dozen games for it, few of which I even made it past the three hour mark in.

    Never bothered to get a DS or PSP, doubted that better graphics would make much difference. I think it’s the tiny screens that put me off.

    If you do decide to see how many skips you can get out of your i-phone, please post a video 🙂


    • You know what, the inability to get into portable games in general is probably my thing as well. I remember when the PSP came out it was all the rage, but I had no interest in it at all. I only got the DS later on because it was relatively cheap, and curse my softie heart, I got into Nintendogs…which I wouldn’t even call an actual game, really.

      And promise, any video I take of something like that would go immediately up on youtube 😛


  3. I have an iPhone and it’s a lot of fun – such a leap forward in technology, it’s amazing.

    I completely agree with you about the games though and it’s never going to replace my PC. For me, at best, they are a bit of a fun distraction when I’m out and about or waiting for my wife in clothes shops 🙂 In that regard, it has totally replaced my DS and PSP.

    The WoW Armory App is excellent. I could also recommend games like Fieldrunners, Bejeweled and Dungeon Hunter. Or, if you want a laugh, iPoo. Yeah, it does exactly what you think it does…


    • Yeah, I’ve always loved Bejeweled, that one’s getting downloaded too 😛 Thanks for the recommendations…not so sure about iPoo though LOL



Leave a Reply

