h1

Rise Of The Godslayer Soundtrack

June 9, 2010

June 13th update: Info is now out on soundtrack package, go here.

Well, it seems that the day I was eagerly awaiting has already come and passed.

I just found out that the beautifully composed soundtrack for Age of Conan: Rise of the Godslayer was actually released earlier last week…at least on iTunes anyway. As an iPod user who generally prefers to buy music in digital format (I can’t remember the last time I bought a CD) and who already has the program installed, this isn’t a problem for me. Those wondering when a hard copy of the album will be made available for sale, however, will have to wait a while longer. I can’t find information about that on Amazon or any other website.

This strikes me as a little odd. You’d think there’s a market here, given the popularity of the music from the original game. I mean, I know people who don’t even play AoC but have gotten the soundtrack because they love what they’ve heard from Hyborian Adventures. The music from RotGs is different given the Asian theme of the expansion, but it’s no less spectacular or impressive. I thought for sure Funcom would be publicizing the the release of the soundtrack, or at least, you know, marketing it just a little bit. I can only assume that the CD version won’t be too far behind.

Oh, according to the press releases, the soundtrack should also include a key that will unlock a special in-game item, a bone flute. My guess is that it’s going to be purely cosmetic, but I don’t care, I wants me a flute-o’-bone! Unfortunately, can’t find further info on that either, from Funcom or iTunes.

Anyway, cycling through the previews for the RotGs tracks on iTunes, I can’t help but wonder if Knut Avenstroup Haugen ever drew inspiration from Asian soap operas when composing the score to this expansion. Some of these songs are strangely reminiscent of the main themes in those Tang Dynasty period dramas my mother and cousins used to love to watch. The shows themselves were god-awful and corny, but the music was always nice to listen to (and there’s something especially enchanting about the sound of an erhu).

My favorite track from the RotGs soundtrack is definitely Villages of Khitai, and I wish I could share it here but I can’t find it anywhere online. As I recall, however, you can actually hear it in the background in this video presentation by Game Director Craig Morrison at GDC10. With all due respect to the very talented Mr. Morrison, I can remember watching this wishing he would stop talking for just a second so I could listen to the damn song.

8 comments

  1. I agree its a great sound track. I may have to get my iPod up and running again. My iTunes is a mess and for some reason my iPod is giving me trouble making playlists and copying them on to it. I hate iTunes software.


    • This soundtrack is awesome. I hadn’t heard some of the stuff from the level 80 khitai zones yet, and I’m finally getting the opportunity.

      And itunes software is a bitch, I agree…for one thing, it hogs up more resources than I would have liked. I do like my ipod though, so gotta use it. C’est la vie.


  2. I absolutely love the music in Conan and it definitely helps build the tremendous immersion that the game offers.

    My favourite piece is probably the score that plays when you start on the beach in Tortage… it perfectly captures the moment.


    • I think I remember that…and yes, it’s very fitting for after the shipwreck and you’re on the beach and Kalanthes walks up to you 🙂


  3. I never gOt into soundtracks. In 6 years of playing WoW, I’ve never heard the sound. I play at night and I need to be quiet.


    • Wow, really, eh. Some of the WoW music is great though, I have all the soundtracks from that game too, including the tavern collection.


  4. I very rarely buy soundtracks any more, but I could make an exception in AoC’s case. Thanks for the head’s up. iTunes, here I come.


    • Yeah, Knut Avenstroup Haugen is one talented composer. I have the music of the first game too, which features the vocals of Helene Boksle. It’s just an amazing soundtrack.



Leave a Reply

