h1

Hope Trailer

June 14, 2010

To me, cinematic trailers are really nothing more than tools that game companies use to feed the hype machine, and very rarely do they ever depict what actual gameplay will be like. But still, I won’t lie — ever since Bioware released their “first” Deceived trailer for Star Wars: The Old Republic I’ve had my hopes up for a second one. These hopes were finally answered on Friday night as I watched the Gametrailers TV special and saw a short “the-making-of type” feature on the new cinematic trailer that was to be revealed during E3 2010. I didn’t even care that all they showed was like 5 seconds of actual footage from the trailer; knowing that it would feature Troopers was good enough for me.

Anyway, I’d be geeking out on the SWTOR community site right now if the forums hadn’t just gone down due to extremely high traffic (I’m not surprised) so I’ll just have to do my freaking out here, because the full trailer was released earlier today, aptly named Hope.

Some quick thoughts:

  • Great job once again by Blur Studio.
  • Finally, the Republic gets some love!
  • There was speculation that this trailer was going to explain how Darth Malgus got his mask…I was actually sort of hoping for a sticky grenade to the face.
  • This trailer is going to make the Trooper a wildly popular class.
  • Looking forward to finding out more about the female Jedi with the double bladed light saber in a future Biographies page (I’m skeptical that it’s Satele Shan due to some discrepancies in age, skills and appearance).
  • Some sort of force-deflection/absorption technique was how she was able to stop the light saber with her hand?
  • That move she made looked like something out of Dragonball Z.
  • Not as mind-blowing as Deceived, but I admit my expectations were higher for this one.
  • This game is going to completely destroy my life.

14 comments

  1. You beat me by 10 minutes. you’ve got a lot more to say but my title is too wicked to deny.


    • Yes, I gotta give you mad props for your title! 😀


  2. When Malgus went in for the kill, I was all like “oh fuck, there dies another Jedi.”

    And then she blocked a lightsaber with her open palm. 😀


    • That was one of the “What the!?” moments for me, lol. That, along with how the semi-invincible trooper with no helmet is able to take out lightsaber-wielding Dark Jedi with bodychecks and hand to hand combat, and then walk into a Force Lightning, and then survive a point blank grenade blast. Again, with no helmet.

      Also, she seriously took one hand away from a saber lock for 3 seconds to pull down a tree!? Her dual-lightsaber technique doesn’t seem to involve much saber spinning, though.

      Maybe she used something like Force Lightning to block that lightsaber thrust into her palm, since we’ve seen how that has a physical/pushback effect on lightsabers in the Prequels.

      In summary… is there an HD version of this? 😛


      • (forgot to click the “e-mail me for follow-up comments” button)


      • I know, I was also thinking to myself that the trooper there must be like some sort of superman. He’s gonna get some nasty scarring though, judging from that scene of his face at the end 😛

        And yes, here it is in HD 😀

        http://www.gametrailers.com/video/e3-2010-star-wars/101162


      • He’s actually a Space Marine.

        (That, by the way, is one of the coolest intro cinematics ever.)


  3. Definitely makes me excited for the game!!


  4. Am pretty sure what she used was called Force Detonate or Detonation. It allows Jedi to detect structural weaknesses in objects and detonate the object.


    • Ooh, interesting, and sounds like a good possibility for sure. I was thinking it might be sort of like the “charged” force push in The Force Unleashed.


  5. […] “This game is going to completely destroy my life.” […]


  6. Seriously awesome CGI trailer! Now everyone will really want to play Jedi that chick was amazing. I love dexterity based characters and pretty women 🙂

    I have to say that my interest in this game was wanning but this even though it wasn’t in game was a nice treat to pick up my attention again.


    • Yeah, though they never show what actual gameplay will be like, there’s always value in a cinematic trailer that’s well made 😀 I can never say no to eye candy like that!


  7. […] You can find less cynical reviews of the trailer here and here. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Review: Star Wars Fate of the Jedi: Book 2 – […]



Leave a Reply

