h1

Checking In With The Terrific Tauren Two

July 1, 2010

The World of Warcraft: Cataclysm closed beta has started and is well underway, so that probably means Blizzard has things on track.

This also means that the pressure’s on to get my husband’s and my Tauren toons leveled up at least past the old world Horde content before Azeroth is changed forever. For example, we’ve already been through Thousand Needles and I just can’t believe when the expansion comes, that whole zone will be underwater with only the tips of the towering mesas showing, creating a bunch of tiny little islands. If I don’t do some of these quests now, chances are I’ll never get the chance to experience them as they are once Cataclysm releases.

Our Hunter-Warrior combination has been a lot of fun so far, though my better half and I have always been used to leveling together with one of us being a healer. We were certainly spoiled by the last two characters we leveled together, which were an overpowered Druid-Druid duo that just facerolled over everything, so needless to say we have to be a little more careful and patient this time around.

Things haven’t been going so smoothly either, since both of us are Horde noobs and half the time we have no idea where the hell we’re going. Before this I’ve been exclusively Alliance for about 4 years, and I’ve taken cities like Stormwind and Ironforge for granted. It’s a little unsettling to get dropped into a place like Undercity or Orgrimmar and have to rely on the guards because you have no clue where the Auction House, Bank or flight masters are…but I’m learning.

Old habits also die hard. I still recoil sometimes when I see the red banners of the Horde, and I almost got myself killed one time running into Refuge Pointe to get the flight point there, completely forgetting I’m a Hordie now and that the one I’m looking for is actually in Hammerfall (D’oh!)

Despite all that, I’m having a blast playing for the other team! Oddly enough, I haven’t felt the urge to play my Ally characters at all, even with the new patch.

Anyway, we both hit level 32 tonight, so I think we’ll be okay even if we continue leveling at our leisurely pace. Summer’s not exactly the best time to have MMO goals though, with the weather being so nice, and my game time being eaten up by so many outdoor distractions.

Speaking of which, Happy Canada Day to my fellow Canucks! In addition to enjoying the fireworks and parades, I’m also being dragged to something called Ribfest?

17 comments

  1. Woot! Happy Canada Day!

    I just posted about Guild Wars 2 (surprise!) and when you mentioned cataclysm changing old zones permanently it sort of made me think that GW2 and cataclysm are sort of going for the same thing. A sort of nostalgia about their zones.

    GW2 is obviously doing this in a sequel, 250 years will have passed and you’ll see what the ravages of time does to places.

    Cataclysm is doing something rather innovative by changing their current zones completely. I think it’ll be more effective because you’ll be playing through on characters you’ve had in these zones before instead of brand new characters like gw2. Unless of course you’re starting one of the new races.

    Anyway it was just a thought.


    • Blizz may be doing something unique with Cataclysm, but it does make me a little sad to think about not having the “old” world ever again. But when I really think about it, WoW isn’t at all like it used to be even now, so I really don’t know why I’m feeling so sentimental.


  2. Every time people post about Cataclysm, I’m sorely tempted to log back into WoW, if only to see the world as it is now, one more time.

    I understand why Blizzard is doing what they are, but I really wish they could find a way to “instance” this change – as in, leave new players in the Old World until a certain point in “the story”, at which they experience the Cataclysm. I understand there aren’t THAT many people who haven’t played WoW (what was the last number…trillions?), but I feel sorry for people who will never experience some of the old zones…


    • Yeah, it’s true…even though the news coming out of beta now is that the new zones are pretty awesome look at and to quest in too. Ahh, we’ll always have our memories of pre-Cataclysm…just like we’ll always remember pre-Wrath and pre-BC πŸ™‚ There’s a lot of stuff people don’t do or experience differently, even now…I doubt too many people bother to do the Warlock or Pally epic mount quests anymore, for example…and those were fun as hell.


  3. I can certainly understand Drannos’ sentiments. I suppose just like real life, you can’t be everywhere at once. But I would love to see 1KN fill up with water. (I wonder how the flood there will affect Feralas.) Heck I just hope I am there for the actual Cataclysm, itself.

    It’s kind of weird for me to hear about/listen to people that have played WoW for so long and have only play one side. It must be exciting to see some of the countryside from the other perspective, GeeCee. I had toons in both factions fairly early, though none of my horde toon is above, like, 63 yet. Enjoy old Azeroth while you can. I’m guessing there won’t be many, if any, changes in Northrend. Lorewise, the Lich King will have been defeated, just as Illidan, Onyxia and the Ahn’Qiraj, though we’ll be able to go spank him as 85s. πŸ˜›


    • Kinda funny, because I still remember many moons ago when I just started WoW and ventured into Thousand Needles for the first time…a thought crossed my mind like, “how cool would it be for this entire place to be filled with water? And then it’ll be the thousand islands instead!” LOL and lo and behold, it’s actually going to come to pass πŸ˜›

      And yes, it’s quite exciting to play for the other side. Lots of new sights, especially in the earlier zones. Oh, and riding the zeppelin was great fun!

      I don’t think there will be much changes in Northrend either, or even Outland. From the stuff I’ve read on Cataclysm, it seems they’re only interested in revamping 1-60, the “old world” Azeroth.


  4. I’m trying to get my Warrior to 80 in preparation for Cataclysm so I experience the new high level content when it hits. I’ve also got a bunch of low level characters but not sure if I want to level them up now or after the expansion comes out. Hmm tough call!

    I know for sure I’ll be rolling a Worgen Rogue though πŸ˜›


    • I’m going to do what I can to level up any characters I have that aren’t at level cap, but it’s probably going to just end up being my Tauren. When the expansion arrives, I’m going to start a new character, of one of the new races. Haven’t decided which one to go yet…before, I was going to do Worgen since all my other characters are alliance, but I’m loving the Horde now, so I’m also thinking maybe Goblin…decisions, decisions!


  5. Yay for Canada!


    • Happy Canada Day! Hope you had a good one! πŸ˜€


  6. I’ll likely be playing up a Goblin wizard. It’s amazing to me that anyone plans to play races other than gnomes and goblins once Cataclysm goes live πŸ˜‰


  7. Best of luck to you outrunning the cataclysm. I’ve never run a druid before, so I’ll be rolling a Worgen Druid when the expansion hits.


    • Worgen druids should be fun. I love the class (I have two level 80 druids, one feral cat/bear and the other resto/balance to cover all playstyles) even though the first 20 levels can be a real pain the ass until you get your cat form.


  8. I’ve been taking time to wander the Old World with my 80 taking pictures of places that I know will soon change drastically. I’ve been playing WoW since day 1, and leveled multiple characters (mostly through Kalimdor), so the Old World has a lot of nostalgia for me.

    Even though I’m kind of sad that soon it will be changed forever, I don’t think any other MMO has been so ambitious to create such a drastic permanent change like Cataclysm.


    • Taking a Horde character through Azeroth is turning out to be a pretty good idea, since I found I was able to do a lot of quests I never knew existed, especially with the big horde quest hubs in Swamp of Sorrows, Badlands etc.

      You’re right, ambitious is a very good word to describe this move by Blizzard, the fact it’s so drastic and permanent.


      • It’s -always- a good idea to roll Horde. =D

        *waves Thunder Bluff banner*



Leave a Reply

