h1

Kreia, And G0-T0, And The Exile! Oh My!

July 3, 2010

It’s no secret that I’m a huge fan of Bioware’s Knights of the Old Republic, but I’m quite chagrined to admit I’ve never gotten around to playing its sequel. It’s certainly not for lack of trying though. Developed by Obsidian Entertainment, The Sith Lords has been on my list for a long time, but when I finally got around to installing the game, for some reason my PC and evil Windows Vista refused to run it. By that point, I’d already gotten rid of my old computer and operating system so I was SOL.

Well, when the trusty PC fails me, I know I can always count on my old pal the Xbox 360. I finally got around to ordering a used copy of the original Xbox version of the game, and it arrived last night. My KOTOR II adventures are just an update away. I. Am. Psyched.

24 comments

  1. It’s off da hook. I like KOTOR1 better, actually, for the story. But I think the combat and mechanics in KOTOR2 are better, iirc.


    • A lot of people have said that, and I expect I’ll feel much the same when I’m finished. Regardless, I’m just looking forward to finally experiencing this bit of Old Republic lore.


  2. Keep it up, meatbag. *snerk*


  3. YESSSSS

    This is excellent! Please, post all about your happy fun times!


    • Oh, I certainly will!


      • I hope you like it. There is a general sense that the game was released before it was complete, but I enjoyed the second game as much as the first. In particular, its characters were really good.

        And by ‘characters’, I mean Kreia.


  4. When i first installed kotor 2 i had significant problems getting it to run, all i could do was look at the menu. actually trying to enter the game made it crashed. I believe messing with the graphics settings fixed everything. turning off shading, and a ton of other things. I think. maybe that was kotor 1. one of those.


    • I had no problems whatsoever with KOTOR I, and not even later, when I got it on this computer through Steam (*big kisses to Steam*). KOTOR II, on the other hand, gave me such a headache. I looked around all over for a solution, and even got my computer science friend to take a look at it…Vista just seemed to hate KOTOR II.


      • Too bad! The PC version has had ‘completion’ mods released for it, that add in content originally stripped from the released game.


  5. As I recall KOTOR2 used a version of the Miles Sound System that was not compatible with Vista. Replacing the mss32.dll in the game directory with a newer version fixed it for me.

    KOTOR2 is sadly a game with quite a few holes in it. Midway through development Lucasarts announced that the game would come out 6 months earlier than previously announced. As a result while the early parts of the game is pretty darn good, the ending is an unfinished mess.

    It’s still one of my favorite games though, I played through the whole game three times.


    • The sound system might have been it, but I never did find out. When things got too technical, I just gave up 😛

      And yeah, I’ve heard how many of the game’s bugs and flaws could be blamed on Lucasarts and how they rushed KOTOR II’s development. So many people still like it for what it is though, so Obsidian must have done a pretty good job with what they had. I’m still looking forward to it 🙂


  6. KotOR II = Mass Effect 2 for me. Disappointing.

    More story and less combat, please.


    • Haha, that’s what I’ve heard. The combat in the first game sort of irked me though, so I’m curious to see what I’ll think of it in KOTOR II.

      And LOL I loved Mass Effect 2, as much as I enjoyed the first one. Interestingly enough, while we’re on the topic of story and combat, it was because I felt ME2 had more story which made me like it so much…but at the same time, I felt it was a little unfortunate that the quality of combat took a hit. Just out of curiosity, what about Mass Effect 2 disappointed you?


    • That’s… too bad. I enjoyed both the combat and story of both games. Jade Empire, on the other hand, seemed to suffer from too much story and combat too much like KOTOR.


      • Odd. I liked KOTOR, couldn’t get into KOTOR 2 (tried twice), loved Jade Empire. ME and DOA are pretty much poster children of what’s wrong with western RPGs these days. Snozefest, shoddy storytelling with either insanely easy or controller-throwing hard combat. Those two games are the primary reason why I am not bouncing off the walls over SWTOR. It looks like Bioware is trying to bring ME/DOA style crud to the MMO scene.


      • Jade Empire I liked, but I feel it’s the weakest of all Bioware’s RPGs. I can see myself replaying all of the other games at some point, but I think I’m done with JE for good.

        ME and DA:O on the other hand, I loved, though to me they’re completely different (I mean, beyond their genres, RPG-wise). I feel ME appeals to a more “mainstream” audience, while DA:O is an attempt to go back to the Balder’s Gate days. I can definitely agree DA:O isn’t for everybody. It has a very mature and dark story, and a lot of people I know have complained it felt slow. I think it’s a little more niche, and you could love ME or ME2 and other Bioware games, but be bored to tears with DA:O. I adore dark fantasies like that though, which probably explains why I loved every moment the game. I felt the lore they built around it was superb, and spent hours just reading the codices, and a couple of the endings were enough to make me weep.

        I predict the style of SWTOR will be more like the ME games, seeing as how they want to appeal to a wider audience with their MMO. Take heart though, since it’s Star Wars they might decide to adhere to a more KOTOR style instead :D.


      • I guess I should clarify. I love dark stories, esp. dark fantasy. It wasn’t the stories that I had a problem with but the game play, pacing and (for lack of a better word) cinematography. I can go into detail if you like, just don’t want to get up on the soapbox uninvited. 🙂


      • Oh, I was just sort of expressing my opinions on DA:O in general, and it was also in part in response to AH, since I found out he just bought the game from Steam. 😀


  7. There are a few more bugs in KotOR II than there are in KotOR I, but don’t let that discourage you, it is an excellent game with an excellent story.


    • Oh, don’t worry, I’m not discouraged at all LOL. I’ll take KOTOR II with all its flaws any day, I’m just happy I can finally play it for myself and see what it’s all about.


  8. Can’t wait to hear what you think of the game. Never finished KOTOR myself, but I have heard good things about both. Have fun!


    • I’ll be sure to get some posts up as soon as I start playing and getting the hang on it 🙂



Leave a Reply

