h1

Saturday Night Movie: Predators

July 11, 2010

So I watched Predators tonight with my husband and brother, but it took some convincing to get me out to the theater. I’m quite fond of the franchise actually, but it wasn’t about to break my poor little heart if I had to wait for the DVD either, if you know what I mean. Considering the outlandish state of the last couple of Alien vs. Predator movies, can you blame me for being skeptical? In the end, my brother assured me that this was going to be better (fair enough, but that’s not really saying much now, is it?) and so I relented, especially after he said those magic words, “I’ll pay for your ticket.”

Surprise, surprise (at least to me), Predators turned out to be pretty decent. It would have been awesome, even, if you could forget the first two Predator movies were ever made. But as they were, we already know what tricks those camouflaging, trophy-hunting, heat-seeking bastards have up their sleeves, we’ve already seen some of the ways we puny humans can outsmart them, and we’ve already heard all the classic lines. The most interesting plot twist almost seemed beside the point, and Adrien Brody, who’s like the last actor I’d expect to ever see in a Predator movie, makes a valiant and successful attempt to be a badass…but in the end, he’s still no Arnold Schwarzeneggar.

Still, it was a spine-rippingly entertaining and suspenseful ride; obligatory for Predator fans and worth checking out if you’re a serious sci-fi film buff.

23 comments

  1. Yo, I liked it, too. It is for sure not the best movie ever made, rather mediocre. But it had its moments. Sometimes it was (un)intentionally hyper funny! Morpheus making fire for instance cracked me up.

    The hounds of the Predators were kinda cool, and the two different Predator races reminded me of the Highlander and Kurgan. The new ones are really savage.

    Yeah, we must clone Schwarzenegger. Action movies without him simply lack that special kind of oomph.


    • I quite liked the hounds as well, reminded me somewhat of being attacked by the Targs of STO lol πŸ˜›

      And yeah, there were some awkward lines there that made people in the theater snicker or laugh when I was watching it too.


  2. I missed hearing about this movie or seen any previews for it somehow. Actually seen all the other predator movies be sure to check this one out later. Thanks for the little heads up or would have totally missed it.


    • Yeah, I’ve seen all the Alien, Predator and Alien vs. Predator movies…it was the AVP crap that originally turned me off from seeing this one, even though this went back to a pure Predator franchise, I was convinced it was going to suck. It turned out all right though, quite entertaining. I think Rotten Tomatoes gave it like a 60-something percent, which I feel is quite accurate…not bad, not great, but definitely better than so-so.


  3. I made the mistake of reading some reviews and listening to a podcast about the movie. I’m not too enthused to see it. The premise seems excellent but, what do they do with it after that? just seems like any other tick people off 1 by 1 until the final showdown movie.


    • These horror sci-fi movies are always like that, you can start a pool on who dies first, who lives etc. πŸ˜› It’s very typical in that regard, but I enjoyed it all the same. Oh, and of course, they had to leave it open for a sequel πŸ˜‰


  4. you can’t compete with any movie that has “get to the choppah!” or “stick around”.


    • I think I’ve sent this to you already, but everyone should watch this πŸ˜€


      • HEHEHEHEHHEHEHEHEHEHEH omg you made my whole entire week with that video πŸ˜€ <3333


  5. I was surprised too at the Adrien Brody choice.. plus I had to see it in french… damn… seems like theathers around here don’t always have the original version. Anyway, good, fun, mindless entertainment. Just enjoy the killings and forget the need for a plot πŸ˜‰


    • Yeah, I’ve always pictured Brody as a classy, scientist-type actor, I was pleasantly surprised at how well he played special ops! And wow, no English version? I know that the French language is very prominent in Quebec, but I would have thought most places would give you a choice. But glad you enjoyed it too, nonetheless! πŸ˜€


      • there used to be a theatre who would show all movies in the original english. Sadly, it wasn’t profitable enough because there wasn’t enough people going to see them to justify the cost. Eventually the theatre shut down.

        Now, really big title movies like Avatar will be shown in english during the first week or so. If I want to see them I can’t wait too long.

        As for French being prominent you have no idea… there’s a lot of laws to protect french and force companies to display in both language here. In fact its probably its a recurring theme in politics. The main justification behind it being that Canada is a bilingual country.

        Wether or not they are going overboard is deserving of a lot of posts all by itself πŸ™‚


      • Wow, no kidding. I was actually in Montreal yesterday, and it was really interesting that even though it’s still Canada, more people speak French than English, all the signs are in French first and foremost and the English versions are always smaller πŸ˜› It does seem like it’s a little overboard, but it’s a great culture. I adore Montreal.


  6. Oooh, I’m so glad you liked it cause I’m going to see it on Thursday πŸ™‚ Does Arnie make a cameo? I really wish it did…


    • LOL if he did I would have automatically given this movie 10 stars πŸ˜€


  7. Glad to be hearing good things about Predators, only just out here this weekend and haven’t had a chance to go see it yet.

    Was kinda concerned it would be another AvP or Requiem


    • Oh god, AvP and Requiem were awful! The former was particularly painful to watch, especially the ending lol.


  8. Arnie “Will Be Back” soon just like he always say. Governor gig is almost over. Funny thing no one has filled his shoes since. I’ll go see this one this afternoon. Love the video clip!


    • Hope you enjoyed it!


      • I did! Seems unfinished.


  9. Sounds DVD material.


  10. Predator was fantastic. Of course I love Arnie movies, even the stupid ones. P II, I barely remember but I think was at least OK. AVP was horrifically bad. Requiem was on the low side of “meh.” In fact, put head to head I’d take the AVP game from the Atari Jaguar (one of two good games on the system) over either of the AVP movies.

    Likely going to see Predators this week.


    • You know something is seriously wrong with a movie when you think about it and the only thing that comes to mind is a smartass comment from someone in the audience in response to a scene you can’t even remember πŸ˜› That’s pretty much AVP for me.



Leave a Reply

