h1

I Write Like?

July 15, 2010

Blog-related post here. I gotta hand it to Hunter, sometimes I find some pretty interesting things on his blog.

Ever wonder who you write like? Copy your latest blog post and paste it in over here to find out. Here’s what I got when I plugged in my Misty Mountains post:

I write like
Margaret Atwood

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

Obviously, this is purely for fun and I gotta wonder just how exactly these results are generated (Edit: According to Hunter, there are more than 30+ possibilities) — but I do find it a little amusing how out of all the available choices, my style (in a post where I bitched about the cold, no less) has been pegged for being most like that of Canada’s most renowned female writer.

I’m ashamed to say I’ve never actually read any of Atwood’s novels (The Handmaid’s Tale is on my reading list, I swear!) but I’m fully aware of her talent as a wordsmith as well as her poetic style. As much as I’d like to think otherwise, I know “wordsmith” and “poetic” are two words that definitely do not describe me and my writing, so while the comparison is certainly flattering, I also know it’s downright bull. Like I said, it’s just for fun. If you have a minute to spare, why not give it a shot? I’m curious to see who my fellow bloggers write like.

31 comments

  1. LOL yeah these things are never that accurate, but, definitely a little fun.

    I’ve seen the Handmaids tale movie with natasha richardson i think was in it? the ideas were good at least.


    • updated my post with a list of possible authors. unknown if its a complete list though.


    • Neat, that’s more than we originally thought.


  2. OMG! I plugged in my latest blog post and got James Joyce. So I tried the first chapter of my current book and got Margaret Mitchell. HA HA HA!


    • Really? Bullet points and James Joyce? heh heh heh 😀


  3. Oh, and the only Atwood book I’ve read is The Blind Assassin. I quite enjoyed it.


  4. I pasted a short story I wrote and got Stephen King!


  5. Very neat. I got different authors with different subjects pasted in heh. Maybe I write like someone different each day =p Fun little thing to play around with.


  6. Mine, at least, consisitenly pinned me to David Foster Wallace when writing an essay, and Dan Brown for my Fiction pieces. I tried two or three of each.


  7. I got Stephen King from one blog post, and Stephen Foster Wallace from another. Maybe, I’ll throw in some short stories when I get home.


  8. I got Ian Flemming for my video game blog posts and i got Dan Brown on some cognitive/metaphysical musings i wrote on another blog.


  9. Huh. Apparently I write like James Joyce. Funny, because I could never get through his books.


    • Oh gawd, same. James Joyce was like the bane of my high school years and especially during my final year when I took AP Lit. I’ll be happy if I never have to read a JJ book ever again.


  10. I got Dan Brown. Shoot me now please.


  11. @Rowan and Yeebo – I get David Foster Wallace for a lot of my posts too.

    @everyone There might be something to this, because my results consistently show up as only 2-3 writers out of the almost 20 or so that must exist. Hunter just updated his page with a list, check it out 😀


    • I added a few more and then came to the realization there are quite a few authors in actuality. over 30 at last count but I didn’t even add the last 6 I counted or so. It just seems to go on so I stopped.


  12. Bleh, Stephen King. I hate his writing. GAH! 🙂


    • The above was for one of my blog posts. I decided to paste in my one decent chapter of fiction. Came back as Dan Brown.

      Look, I read David Weber, Neil Gaiman, Michael A. Stackpole… Pick one of those darn you!!!


  13. David Foster Wallace for a nonfiction piece, and Dan Brown – arrgghh – for one my fiction pieces.


  14. Hahaha.

    I don’t know how they derived this…

    I write like H.P. Lovecraft?

    (based on content from my post on Battle for Lion’s Arch 2 at http://nugget.posterous.com/the-battle-for-lions-arch-2)

    I can’t for the life of me see how that’s like Lovecraft but…

    Pikachthulu forever!


    • Pikachthulu, muahahaha! Priceless.


      • The ELDER POKEMON!

        With tentacles! ?handicles?


  15. These stuff are indeed fun to do. I plugged in my last post and got “Douglas Adams” the english writer and science fiction writer who wrote the Hitchhicker’s Guide to the Galaxy”. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_Adams

    Will plug at least 10 posts in to get a better average of comparison.


  16. I got David Foster Wallace… no idea who that is.. guess I’ll have to check it out


    • Got a few HP Lovecraft too… seems like I’m either David Foster Wallace or HP Lovecraft. Go Miskatonic!!


    • A lot of people seem to get DFW, including yours truly.


  17. […] 16, 2010 by Galo I saw this post over at MMO GamerChick one of the more frequent blogs I read and saw this fun post about a writing analyzing tool to […]


  18. I got a different author for nearly every post I tried.


  19. Woooooot, i write like Chuck Palahniuk! Of course this was a complete fanfic i wrote when i was 12, and couldn’t really resist plugging it in *Yeah i keep records of stuff i write no matter how goofy dont judge me :(*

    Then i was like…ok who the crap is Chuck Palahniuk, wiki’d it, TOTALLY THE GUY WHO WROTE FIGHT CLUB! BOOOSH!


    • I’ve read almost every Chuck Palahniuk book out there (except for his latest stuff)…it’s all very edgy, and he has a very distinctive style that will get on your nerves after a while. I enjoyed his books a lot though, I just couldn’t read them back to back, had to space them out to get the previous one out of my system before I moved on to the next 😛



Leave a Reply

