h1

Into The Misty Mountains

July 15, 2010

Things have been busy, but I’d feel off if I went this week without a Lord of the Rings Online update. Yes, I’m still playing, especially since I’m a ball of nerves these days and I find questing through the LOTRO game world so very soothing (in part due to the lovely sounds of Eriador).

I’ve also been inspired to take a page from Lonomonkey, who writes his own weekly LOTRO updates to track his progress and to talk about his adventures (he usually does his on Wednesdays). One reason I started this blog was so I could do the same with my in-game experiences, and I think it’d be pretty neat to be able to look back on a little LOTRO “travelogue” full of my thoughts once I hit level 65. And mark my words: I fully intend on getting there. It’s just…going to take a while, that’s all.

I’m currently pushing my way towards level 40, and last night I finally went back to the North Downs and wrapped up Book III. It’s nice how Turbine has made all these epic quests solo-friendly, especially seeing how often I play so late at night when there’s hardly anyone around to group up with or lend a hand. I was a little wary at first, but turns out the buff you get is so powerful, sometimes I feel like a god plowing through all the elite mobs when there’s virtually no real threat of dying or failing.

I also ventured into the Misty Mountains for the first time. I know I’m still a little low for it, but I just couldn’t wait. Chances are I’ll be returning to the Trollshaws or Evendim to polish off a few more quests before I fully dive into MM, but it was worth it just to be able to explore a little, even if it meant spending most of my time there dodging pissed off polar bears.

Like this fella, for example. I don't think he's here to offer me a Coke.

This is the first time I’ve personally stepped foot into this zone, but I’ve seen screenshots prior to this and it has always impressed me how some of them look like paintings or even photographs at first glance. I wish it had been day time in the game (for some reason it always seems to get dark as soon as I choose to explore, and I know I’m not getting the full effect) but even so I could tell Misty Mountains is beautiful; I didn’t have to travel too far in to discover that.

When it comes to games, I also tend to have a bias for the snowy, mountainous regions (like Winterspring in World of Warcraft or Siveria in Allods Online), which is a little strange considering how much I hate the cold. But perhaps their appeal lies in the very fact that I can appreciate the alpine beauty through my MMO characters without having to freeze my own ass off.

11 comments

  1. The more I play the end game of WoW, the more depressed I become by it. I think I’m going to give some other MMOs a shot over the weekend and LotRO is one of them!

    Love reading your articles on the game ๐Ÿ™‚


    • Give it a shot, it couldn’t hurt. And F2P is just around the corner. ๐Ÿ™‚


  2. ahhh so the truth comes out. the real reason you’re moving to new jersey is you hate the cold. And you call yourself canadian.

    a lot of people sing the praises of night/day cycles but most of the time it just annoys me. i can’t see a damn thing.


    • Gotta love Canada, but the winters are awful. I should be glad I’m in southern Ontario where it’s relatively milder and not out in Alberta, Saskatchewan or Manitoba, where I hear it gets REALLY bad during the winter months. Or god help me, in the northern territories.


  3. There’s an option to boost the natural light in the game if you want to. Pretty useful in Moria.

    I also want to get to 65 and finish exploring this game. With Sc2 and WoW things will move slower but the goal here is to enjoy the journey.


    • Thanks for the tip, I’m going to do that the next time I’m taking screenshots at night.


  4. Misty Mountains has always been one of my favorite environments in the game. Not my favorite area to quest, but the visuals sure make it easier. Of all the areas I’ve had to return to for Deeds, this is the one I never dread.

    Not that I enjoy the cold particularly, but I’ve always been partial to mountains…


    • Zones with visuals that are easier on the eyes are always the ones I like to quest in most. Can’t wait to see more of MM.


  5. Ha ha ha! I know exactly what you mean about mountainous zones. Since I’m in California, cold for me is when it drops below 70F. I don’t want to think about snow unless it’s in a game.


    • 70F? (yay for my iphone units converter…moving to the States now, gotta need one of those ๐Ÿ˜› ) That’s like run outside naked and soak up the sun weather ๐Ÿ˜€


  6. At least in the night shots you can see the stars. ๐Ÿ™‚



Leave a Reply

