h1

You Came In That Thing?

August 20, 2010

A short space combat video was revealed earlier this week on the Star Wars: The Old Republic website, so it makes sense that they would tie the Friday update in to it as well. The new page “Starships” has been added to the Holonet (guess this also means more material for future updates) and currently only features the two classes that have already been confirmed: Corellian Defender (formerly the Vanguard?) for the Jedi Order, and the Fury-class for the Sith.

Presumably the other four ship slots that are still blanked out are the ones for the Trooper, Smuggler, Bounty Hunter and Imperial Agent classes, but based on the space combat trailer I think it’s possible to make informed guesses as to which one is for which. Ship models are apparently designed specifically to match the player class types, but as far as I know other than the cosmetic differences they’ll all function pretty much the same way. Keeping things fair and all that jazz.

A Fan Friday was also released, complete with a Developer Corner that reveals the names and some details of the remaining Advanced Classes. I concede I felt a little awkward reading through a couple of these. If anything is subject to change, I sure hope it’ll be some of the names.

Trooper: Commando and Vanguard
Smuggler: Scoundrel and Gunslinger
Jedi Knight: Jedi Sentinel and Jedi Guardian
Jedi Consular: Jedi Shadow and Jedi Wizard

Bounty Hunter: Powertech and Mercenary
Sith Warrior: Sith Juggernaut and Sith Marauder
Imperial Agent: Operative and Sniper
Sith Inquisitor: Sith Sorcerer and Sith Assassin

Eep, “Jedi Wizard”? Really, I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. I just take comfort in the fact that at least both Advanced Classes for the Bounty Hunter sound respectable.

23 comments

  1. Apparently the evil guys always get the more stylish dress, armor, weapon, ship…. ๐Ÿ™‚


    • I’m good with that ๐Ÿ˜€ The Fury class ship looks like a TIE fighter on steroids, I love it! The ship that I think goes with the BH looks sweet too, so I’m hoping it’s right ๐Ÿ˜›


  2. You thought the Bounty Hunter names were okay? And here I was getting ready to comment on how lame “Powertech” was. Hmm.

    How about “Jedi Shadow”? Can we at least agree that one is bad?


    • Heh heh I said they were respectable, I didn’t say I was enamored with them ๐Ÿ˜› Actually, I think Mercenary sounds great, and while Powertech may be a bit cheesy I think given the gadgeteering nature of the BH it sort of works. Besides, I think it could have been much worse ๐Ÿ˜›

      Jedi Shadow is cringe-worthy, I agree, but sadly it’s canon. ๐Ÿ˜ Still way better than “wizard”! I have a feeling they may change it.


      • See, while cringe-worthy, both Jedi “Wizard” and Sith “Sorcerer” are directly related to the first movie (STAR WARS). In fact, if you’re not careful, I’ll quote the scenes they were applied to the characters.


      • Haha, actually, I know. See below my reply to elleseven.

        And it was Motti who referred to Darth Vader as “sorcerer” and like Owen Lars’ use of “wizard” it wasn’t meant in a positive way either. But it still makes more sense because there in fact were ancient Sith who called themselves Sorcerers, so it better fits the lore.

        Obviously, Lucas Arts approved Wizard, otherwise Bioware wouldn’t have been able to reveal it. But like I said, a class shouldn’t be named after a disparaging remark or kid slang (“wizard” from episode I), whereas Shadow is different because it was a term actually used by the elite jedi covert guys to describe themselves.


      • Ja I saw that after the fact. lol


  3. I dont mind powertech as they do use so many gadgets.
    But Wizard is the worst. Makes me think of those crappy purple mage hats in wow. Should have gone with Wraith or somehing cooler sounding.
    And Scroundrels pretty lame too.
    I think I’ll just be a sniper.


    • Yeah, that’s why I don’t think the name fits. When I think Star Wars I don’t think wizards, nor vice versa. In fact, I don’t even think purple mage hats like you, I think Harry Potter!

      And funny thing, this is what wookieepedia says about “wizard”:

      Wizard: Juvenile equivalent to “cool” (i.e. “that’s so wizard, Ani”). Also used as a derogatory term for Jedi Knights by individuals such as Owen Lars.

      *shudder*

      Come on, a class shouldn’t be named after a derogatory term or kid slang ๐Ÿ˜›

      I think I saw someone on the forums suggest “Sage” which isn’t perfect, but still way better than “wizard”. And I like “Wraith”, but it also sounds too evil for a jedi. On the other hand, I think it would be great in place of “Sorcerer” (also apparently a slang term ๐Ÿ˜› )


      • ‘Sage’ would have been a great title. The word ‘wizard’ does exist in the Star Wars universe, but MAN, that’s just not a cool class name.


  4. You’re braver than I thought.

    Also, have you seen the new DA 2 cinematic trailer, yet? (I haven’t, actually, lol)


    • Ooh, no I have not *rushes off to youtube*


      • I got an e-mail about it from Bioware ๐Ÿ˜›


      • LOL I got the same email I think, but it didn’t come until this morning. I guess they talked about it on their twitter, but i must have missed it.


      • The 1080p download version from Bioware.com is COOL! It’s a really strange trailer, actually, in the sense that it just focuses on one fight. But it’s pulled off pretty well. I found this social.bioware thread where it analyzes it frame by frame, and especially during the flashback part, they managed to pick out a lot ๐Ÿ™‚


      • I thought it was good, but not great. I still remember when I saw the Sacred Ashes trailer for the first game, I almost peed myself! ๐Ÿ˜› This one wasn’t anywhere near as impressive or mind blowing ๐Ÿ˜›


  5. I put on my jedi robe and wizard hat.


    • That would have made a great post title.


      • You are right and I couldn’t resist doing so. I don’t have much to say in the post, but hey, too good to pass up.


  6. […] the unflagging GeeCee has written several nice summaries of the current state of SWTOR hype. Seriously, I read her blog and only her blog for TOR […]


  7. ‘Wizard’ is the only one that really annoys me – the others all seem to fit, in some way. In fact, I might play a Consular ‘Shadow’ – they sound pretty nifty, actually!


    • I’m torn. Gadgets for the bounty hunter sound so much fun, which makes me think I’ll go Powertech (flamethrower ftw!) but Mercenary looks to be more like pure damage which is more the style I’m looking for.


      • If it is any comfort, I’m torn, too.



Leave a Reply

