h1

LOTRO: Forth We Go

September 8, 2010

I haven’t been following up with news about Lord of the Rings Online for a while so I’ve been pretty clueless, taking for granted that free-to-play was going to come one day and subsequently, swept all thoughts about the game onto the back burner. I didn’t realize that day was coming up so soon, this Friday the 10th to be exact, but even sooner for current subscribers and F2P beta players. It took me a second to even remember that I am on a multi-month plan, so even though I haven’t played for a couple weeks, I still currently have an active subscription.

I also realized I shouldn’t be surprised if the next time I log in to find my Hobbit homeless. I’ve been so neglectful of paying upkeep on my player house.

Anyway, I suppose I qualify for the headstart, which some part of my muddled brain just remembered last minute that it was today, hence the reason for dragging myself up at this late hour to start the launcher and get the update started (crappy internet being slow and all, even then it probably wouldn’t be done until early afternoon). I am suddenly contemplating my original idea of downgrading my account to premium immediately or soon after F2P. This probably isn’t the best thing to do at 2am in the morning, because trying to figure this out is hard enough as it is. I won’t have to worry about a thing if I maintain my VIP status which I actually would prefer if it’ll make my life easier as I continue to play. But since I have a) bought the main game and the expansions, b) have already bought my riding skill, and c) will be logging in mostly to play only my one character, will maintaining a sub will even be all that different from premium? I am thoroughly confused, and not just because I need the sleep.

I’m looking forward to rejoining the Landroval community; despite reservations in the past, I’m actually feeling quite optimistic now that F2P will bring good changes. Perhaps it’s also time to find a new kinship because I was only stagnating in my quiet old one, when a little inspiration and a fresh perspective is probably a little more apropos for entering a new era of LOTRO.

12 comments

  1. I’ve been away for the game a bit myself, really just logging in occasionally to check in on things, but I did pop in last night to start the new epic quest Book 2 and see how busy it was. Hopefully I’ll run into you in game sometime, although I think our play times are pretty off at the moment.


    • I’m still so far away from the new content, but I’ll look at it as motivation to keep going 🙂

      Our play times are pretty off, but hopefully we’ll both be logging in regularly in the next little while. And I didn’t used to have twitter before, but now I can see your activity thanks to Raptr 😛


  2. I will eventually be poking my head in here, but I’m going to wait until the first wave of F2P newbies to crest before I try again. Plus, I don’t need another MMO on my plate right now.


    • Haha, it’s funny that I’m feeling exactly the same way with EQ2X.


  3. I have been logging pretty much only to pay upkeep on my house lately. Hopefully the launch of FtP will spawn some interest in it for me.


    • See, that’s what I should have been doing. I guess I’ll see when I log in later tonight whether I lost my house or not. I don’t even know what happens if I do. Guess I’ll find out 😛


  4. I am going to give it another try, hope to get further this time around. What server do you play on?


    • Landroval. It’s as awesome as everyone says it is 🙂


  5. Buying of Mines of Moria and Siege of Mirkwood gives you all the content and extras included in those xpacs, but purchasing Shadows of Angmar does not give a Premium member all of the SoA content. Premium members only get the three starting area quests (up to about level 25), and have to purchase higher area quests from the store. To figure out how much it’ll cost you to buy piecemeal all of the areas you want to play, I suggest looking at the handy-dandy Content by Level chart at lotro.mmorsel and pricing quest packs in the LOTRO store.

    If you downgrade to Premium, there are a number of restrictions imposed on you concerning mail, chat, auctioning, fast travel, monster play. Subscriptions include 500 store points a month, which can be saved up to buy future xpacs or to buy extra storage space, mounts, cosmetic outfit items, crafting recipes, etc. There are many benefits to being VIP, but a full description would take up a whole page, and I don’t want to hijack your blog. If you like convenience and $10/mo isn’t an issue, I recommend keeping your sub.


    • Wow, I can’t thank you enough, this was exactly the summary I needed. It does make a good argument for maintaining a VIP account…I think while I’m active now, that’s what I’ll do. During times I’m playing more casually and less actively I’ll do premium.


  6. I was really excited to play it but loaded the patcher yesterday to discover that it’s been delayed in Europe 😦 Real shame.

    I’m considering just subbing but then that kinda defeats the point of it going F2P so I’m going to wait. Hopefully it won’t be delayed too long.


    • Damn, Europe gets the shaft again? I hope they get it up and running there soon.



Leave a Reply

