h1

STO: Uncovering What Lies Beneath

November 1, 2010

(Note: Mild spoilers)

Tell me this doesn't look like a bad situation...

Well, let me just start off by saying the latest Star Trek Online Feature Episode “What Lies Beneath” was holiday-appropriate. Do they even celebrate Halloween in Star Trek? I can’t recall, but in any case, the new episode was undoubtedly meant to be a Halloween treat for the players.

That said, this week’s episode had very little in it to advance the story arc, at least not until the very end. What Cryptic has done instead is turn the underbowels of Drozona station into a funhouse of terror, with a mission designed to lead you into all the horror genre references and fright traps that they have cleverly placed around the instance. I thought I was ready for all the tricks, though a couple of them still managed to get me to leap right out of my bodysuit. If you’ve played through this episode, you’ll know what I mean when I say they used a perfect voice actor.

Not sure if this is intentional or just a bug, but the pathetic little flashlight you are given seems to work only half the time.

I also want to add that a few days ago, I convinced my husband to resubscribe to STO. This was the first feature episode we’ve teamed up for, so on top of the spookiness there was also that added apprehension of being in an instance with someone who’s half forgotten how to play the game. Now THAT’S scary! (I’m just kidding, sweetie, if you’re reading this!) We did very well though, and even took out our old friend the Phantasm — a mini-boss mob you’ll encounter again — with hardly an issue. Killing all the other Devidians around him first was the key, and I was glad we were on the same page without even having to discuss our tactics.

Overall, a great episode that fits the spirit of Halloween. It occurred to me that this must have been planned for a while, making me appreciate the efforts of the STO development team all the more.

As a final note, I have to say that Franklin Drake is one cold son of a bitch. Be sure to read his final words after the mission; his analogy about meat is especially disquieting to a Vulcan who’s a vegetarian. Can’t wait until next Saturday for another episode.

5 comments

  1. “In 2364, when Jean-Luc Picard first entered his Dixon Hill holonovel, based on Earth in 1941, he was still wearing his Starfleet uniform. As a quick cover for his unusual attire, he explained to Jessica Bradley that he had “lost a bet”. She replied, “Oh well. At least you’re ready for Halloween” – a term Picard was not familiar with.”

    You’d think they carry on a few traditions even if superstition was a thing of the past.


    • Yeah later it occurred to me to check Memory Alpha to see if there was anything on the topic. Apparently, Halloween fell out of popularity at some point. Whyyyyyy.


  2. That sounds like a lot of fun. I hope your hubby enjoyed himself.


    • Hope so too! I think he’s been liking the feature episodes so far.


  3. […] I’m late to the party, I’ll leave the play by play to Tipa and Gamer Chick (warning spoilers on those links). If you play STO and you haven’t tried out the […]



Leave a Reply

