Archive for August 24th, 2011

h1

5 “Quality Of Life” Rift Features That Have Spoiled Me Silly

August 24, 2011

1. Sell all junk

Straight up time saver that spares me the chore of sifting through all my bags picking out the grey items to sell to vendor. Lord of the Rings Online has a similar function that allows players to “lock” items they want to keep and to sell the rest, but this is just way simpler. All my vendor trash is gone with one click, and I am left with my gold and a morbid curiosity — what the hell would my drink seller need with severed Aelfwar fingers and old roc beaks?

2. Mounts straight out of tutorial

If you have the tartagon from the digital collector’s edition, nothing beats being able to mount up and ride everywhere even as a lowbie level 6. Even if you don’t, in the world of Telara, you can ride a mount as soon as you can afford one. In many ways, that makes a lot more sense. It’s not like MMO worlds are like the real one where your character has to wait until becoming a pimply-faced adolescent to get a license.

3. AoE looting

I’m just sooooo damn lazy. There, I admit it. So if you were thinking of leaving a smart-alecky comment saying “Come on, MMOGC, it only takes a few seconds to loot a few bodies”…try again. Another cool thing — being able to loot mounted. So nice being able to backtrack, see a sparkly body you missed, loot and continue on your merry way without missing a beat.

4. Quest item bag

To be fair, I believe Rift only added this feature quite recently during one of their updates. Every friggin’ MMO needs this. I can think of very little else that infuriates me more than getting an “Inventory is full” message, and seeing that two-thirds of my bags are filled with crap only used, made, or obtained during quests.

5. Customizable UI

From day one, I was impressed with the modularity, flexibility, and customization of the Rift user interface. It’s rare to get something so polished right out of the box, without having to download any addons or mods. And when I started another character and wanted to use the exact same set up? IMPORT! Ah, heaven.