h1

NaNoWriMo Week 2 Update: Effusive

November 14, 2011

Now that we’re coming to the end of week 2, I’m just practically vomiting words onto the page. It stinks, it’s messy, and I’m spewing a lot of it–so I personally like the metaphor. Thankfully, that seems to be whole point of National Novel Writing Month.

Just a quick update to celebrate my successes (and bitch about the challenges).

Like I was saying, the words seem to be coming a lot easier, but every once in a while I still fight the blasted urge to edit. Can’t help it. I’m just so used to it, not to mention my obsessive-compulsive perfectionist side kicking in at the worst of times. Speaking of which, I also read a great piece of advice from one of my favorite authors this weekend regarding research for your NaNo novel, which in a nutshell can be summed up as “STOP IT! STOP IT NOW! RESEARCH LATER DURING THE EDITING PHASE!”

That’s one pitfall I always find myself in, all right. The other day, I was writing a scene in which two of my characters are making hot, sweet love on a couch. I had the whole scene in my head, but all I was obsessing about was how to describe that stupid couch. I went on furniture and antique websites and the whole shebang trying to figure it out, until I stopped and asked myself WTF I was doing. No one is going to give two flying craps about the couch. Not if I do the scene right, anyway. I finally made it a damn Chesterfield, and moved on.

As of last night, I am at 30,028 words, but that’s basically me making the most out of the lead I gained during the first week. This weekend saw the first signs of slowdown in my progress. With my husband getting into the Star Wars: The Old Republic beta, my spare time went mostly to play with him. So we’re not even factoring The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim yet at this point, which is a little scary. The game box has been lying on my coffee table unopened since Friday, but that’s going to change this afternoon.

NaNoWriMo gods, if you can hear this, in the coming days please help me in my quest to balance dragon-y goodness with my writing.

12 comments

  1. Yep, just like real life, if you’re doing the sex part right no one is going to care about the environment. πŸ™‚

    You’re doing great on NaNo – don’t let Skyrim derail you! (Yeah, I totally admit that’s jealousy talking.)


    • I’m still trying to get in ~1000 words a day, just to keep on track, even if it means ending my Skyrim sessions prematurely. Yeah, I’ve definitely slowed down, but I’m still in this to WIN! πŸ™‚


  2. I got into the beta as well this weekend, tried it for about an hour, confirmed my assumptions about the game, and rocked Skyrim from then on out. The moment I realized I was wasting my time was when I noticed I was nodding off to sleep sitting up at my desk, pressing hot keys rhythmically and still winning.

    I hope you love it and hope it does well, but hot key, auto-target, holy trinity games just clearly aren’t for me anymore. The box price + subscription payment method isn’t for me either, anymore, not unless they promise free content at a pace comparable to Rift, which I don’t think TOR can do being fully voiced. Sigh, I grow weary of this world.


    • To each their own, I guess. I had a blast though, there is definitely a whole different dynamic and a new level of fun when you’re in a group with someone else every step of the way. I look forward to the conversations now because they’re different, and something happened during one that it occurred to me, I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard playing an MMO.

      That tells me SWTOR is still all about the story, but if you’re not into themepark MMOs and the sort of mechanics and gameplay you talked about, it’s probably best to move on.


  3. 30,000 words already is crazy. Are you sure you counted right? πŸ™‚

    Good luck keeping your discipline. In the face of the SWTOR beta and Skyrim, I would have trouble staying strong too.


    • Well, that’s what it says on my writing processor and that’s what I’m sticking with! πŸ˜› Though now that you mention it, I’ve heard that the NaNo word count validation program always counts “off” than what you really have, like they don’t count small words like “I” or “as” or something. I don’t know, never done this before, but it makes me think I need to aim for a little more than 50,000 to be safe!


  4. Good job and good luck, i hope we can read this epic novel soon, making steamy love on a red plush couch is right up my alley….but what in the nine hells is a chesterfield o.o????


    • You know how in movies, there are these distinct looking leather couches you see in really posh places like Bruce Wayne’s library or the office of some university dean or something? Yeah, those πŸ˜€ “Deep buttoned sofa, with arms and back of the same height” is Wikipedia’s definition.

      And we’ll see about the novel; it sucks so much right now, I really would be cruel to subject anyone to reading it πŸ˜›


  5. once you start Skyrim, you can kiss your nanowrimo goodbye πŸ˜‰


    • Oh yeah, it is so immersive and addicting. I find it hard to stop once I get playing!


  6. Awesome job! You’ve already passed up my best of 25k words from last year. One tip about the urge to edit and avoiding research, if you really want to change something or you want to put something in but can’t think of it, leave yourself a note in square brackets. That way when you’re done you can search them out and fine them easily.

    And yes, ” vomiting words onto the page” is the entire point.


    • Yeah, I find it best to try and plow on and stop agonizing. But while I do move on most times, the stop agonizing part is harder. My OCD kicking it, probably. I love to fix things on the go, so definitely not used to telling myself that I can go through the manuscript again after I’m done to make it as perfect as I please…but only after November.



Leave a Reply

