Archive for February 19th, 2010

h1

Here There Be Rancors

February 19, 2010

Another new Fan Friday update from the official Star Wars: The Old Republic site today. Personally, I always enjoy the fan creations (particularly the art) but I can also understand how some people can find these types of updates disappointing, especially if they were anticipating something more this week. But before the dissent can ripple through the community, we remind ourselves that all the new Fan Fridays now will be bundled with a feature called Developer’s Corner, where we get to catch glimpses into what the devs have been working on.

Today’s tidbits:

– There’s a short video on the destructive power of the Republic class Trooper, where we can see him pelting a helpless droid with a rain of blaster fire. I like how smooth the animation looks so far, and gotta love the little hand waving motion he does at the end to shake out those cramps. Firing that thing must feel a little like handling a jackhammer.

– And what’s this? Rancors? Rancors! Thank you, Bioware! At the risk of sounding like a gigantic nerd, let me just say this creature render is just full of pure win. Isn’t she a beauty? Well…not literally, of course.

I can’t help it, just knowing that rancors will be in this game makes me excited. That Luke Skywalker vs. the rancor scene from Return of the Jedi has captivated me ever since I was a child. And one of my favorite Star Wars novels, The Courtship of Princess Leia, featured Nightsisters who rode on these things on Dathomir. It would be amazing if these creatures turned out to be a type of enemy boss in SWTOR. While the idea of a rancor mount is irresistibly appealing, I think I’d be happy enough with a good fight with one!

h1

Allods Online Cash Shop Prices…Seriously?

February 19, 2010

The cash shop in Allods Online went live after the update last night. And at the time of this writing, an overwhelming 95% of people in this poll on the game’s forums think that the prices are unreasonable. I’m inclined to agrree with the majority on this one. Here’s a list of items and their prices, which the original poster converted to US dollars.

Perfume x 1 = 75c
Perfume x 20 = $13.50
24 Slot Bag x 1 = $20.00
Holy Relic x 1 = $15.00
Myrh x 1000 = $1.00
Steel Chest x 1 = $1.00
Key x 1 = 10c
Crystal Chips x 10 = $2.50
Crystal Chips x 50 = $12.00
36 Slot Bank Bag x 1 = $15.00

One of the first things I had wanted to get in this game was a new bag. But $20 for a bag upgrade? That’s like 6 extra slots. $20? Seriously? That’s more than the average MMORPG monthly subscription.

I’m really hoping this is a mistake.