Archive for March 13th, 2010

h1

Penciling T’Androma and her Away Team

March 13, 2010

The visual arts have always been a passion of mine, and I’ve been creating art for as long as I can remember. Growing up, I worked with all types of medium — watercolors, oil paints, charcoal, pen and inks, you name it. Right now I do a lot of freelance stuff, and while I enjoy my work immensely, being committed to doing art for others unfortunately leads to less time for my own personal projects. I don’t do as much art for myself as I used to, but every once in a while inspiration will strike.

For the last few years I’ve been helping an amateur writer with his independent comic book projects, and working with him has opened my eyes to the world of  comic book penciling. Though I’d been collecting comics for years, until then I had never attempted the art style. I immediately fell in love with it. Now I often find myself doodling on the extra art boards just for the hell of it, and one thing I love to do is to draw my MMO characters! (The banner for this website, for example, is of my WoW warlock that I did during her Burning Crusade days.)

This particular piece started off as a quick sketch I did a few days ago, but I liked how it turned out so I decided to go back and fill in the details and clean up the pencils. Thanks to my brother and his scanner, I finally had the chance to upload it today. The drawing is of my Star Trek Online character T’Androma (center) with her away team consisting of Donny, Jaime, Sleer (pre-goatee) and Tohuna.  Drawing a Klingon was…interesting. While searching for reference photos, I realized that unlike 99% of Klingons out there, my bridge officer does not have ears covered by massive amounts of hair! Anyway, I thought I’d share the end result here, and you can click to enlarge. Enjoy!